Report-Results: Apres Whacky Races 2


Once again at Preston Park, Apres Whacky Races were blessed with a pristine spring day & compelling cycling action with Simon Brooks claiming top honours

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report-Results: Apres Whacky Races 2

Preston Park, Brighton

ApresLogoFollowing last weeks tragic events at Portsmouth it’s been a week of reflection, with many of us questioning why we do what we do.The days racing included participants who were friends & colleagues of Richard Phillips-Schofield as well as riders who were involved in the race that led to Richard’s death.

If you do come to Preston Park to race, please pay attention during the race briefing. There are no cars or corners on the circuit & safety is very much at the responsibility & discretion of those riding. Many of us have families and loved ones, a wider circle that we are all responsible to whilst taking part.

The main event saw a field of 27 start quickly, fracturing into three distinct groups. Jeremy Brougham (London Dynamo) was the first to go ‘up the road’ and there was a successful effort from Frank Kilsby of VC St Raphael to bridge from group 2, good effort Frank.

Matt Webber from Catford CC Equipe/Banks instigated a well timed break at the three quarter mark which may have well stuck on a hillier course. Waiting patiently, Brooks was constantly shadowed and had to rely on guile & instinct leaving it late, but ultimately finishing well clear. ‘That one’s for Rich’ he said, ‘You’ll put that in the report won’t you?’.

Gavin Ryan (London Dynamo) claimed 2nd spot with Jonnie Blackman pipping junior Matt Webber on the line who simply ran out of gears, a fine ride Matthew. There were also victories in bunch finishes for Pierce Cook-Anderson of Kingston Wheelers in the 3rds and Nigel Dinning of Norwood Paragon in the 4th’s. Patrick Manning (GYCC) was again victorious in the U12/14/16’s and Lucas Barclay (Artic Tacx) in the U8/10’s.

See you all again next week with Apres Whacky Races #3.


Main Race
1 Simon Brooks VC ST Raphael
2 Gavin Ryan london dynamo
3 Jonnie Blackman Beckingham Rugby Cyclists
4 Matthew Webber Catford CC Equipe/Banks
5 Mike Smith Cycleworks
6 Ryan Visser Redhill cc
7 Richard Bettany 4T + Velo
8 Ben Marks Cycleworks
9 Peter Hitt VC Meudon
10 Rhys Keepence Dulwich
11 Jeremy Brougham London Dynamo
12 Frank Kilsby VC St Raphael
13 Louis Suggett
14 George Farrer
15 Dominic Gabellini Rapha Condor
16 stuart Baldwin 4T+ Velo
17 Charles Batho Dulwich
18 Samuel Evans Dulwich Paragon
19 Huberney Diaz Pretorius CC
19 Ross Hallard Pretorius Bikes
19 Kieran Ali
19 Livio Nannetti Rapha Condor
19 Doug Tandy Fareham Wheelers
19 Jason Ginn Southdown Bikes
19 Paul Horta-Hopkins Handsling Racing

1 Pierce Cook-Anderson Kingston Wheelers
2 harvey Morcombe Fareham Wheelers CC
3 Craig Mclean Nuun Sigma Sport
4 Ross Hallard Pretorius Bikes
5 Nathan Hereward VC Meudon
6 Ewan Tuohy Catford CC Equipe Banks
7 Viktor Kazinec Dulwich Paragon CC
8 Jack Noy
9 Matt Hill VO2 Development Team
10 Jon Freeman Kingston Wheelers
11 Ian Jones 4T+ Velo Cycling Club
12 Timothy Harkness Maison du Velo
13 Steven Warnett 4T+ Velo Club
14 Rod Archibald Adalta CC
15 Jon Shillingford
16 Norman Mellors Rock N Road Cycles
17 Juan Pablo Riano Perez Edwardes of Camberwell
18 Matthew Leary PB Cycle Coching Racing Team
19 Stuart Featherstone 4T+ Velo
20 Zak Corum-Haines VC Jubilee
21 Hugo Cauvas Prestige VC
22 Matt Clements Cycle Lab
23 Morgan Lewis Brighton Mitre
24 Harry Hailwood Fareham Wheelers CC
25 Sam Farley Medway Velo Club
26 Stephen Rush Twickenham CC
27 Sam Cheeseman ASL360
28 Stuart Fahey On the Rivet
29 Elliot Lipski VC Elan
30 Bruce Samuel Brighton Mitre
31 Peter Hailwood Fareham Wheelers CC

1 Nigel Dinning Norwood Paragon
3 simon Lythgoe Addiscombe CC
4 Daren Austin Twickenham CC
5 Max Nelson Sutton CC
6 Jamie Davies Evans Ashford Wheelers CC
7 kristopher Rush vc meudon
8 Paul Brett 4t+ velo
9 David Evans Gravesend CC
10 Javier Arias Gonzalez Kingston Wheelers
11 Eng-Jon Ong Charlotteville CC
12 Stephen Clark Ipswich BIke Club
13 Arthur Tye Dulwich Paragon
14 Howard Bayley Blazing Saddles
15 James Baggott Beckenham Rugby Cyclists CC
16 Matthew Shemming Ipswich Bicycle Club
17 Tim Warner Blazing saddles
18 Alex Woods Kingston Wheelers
19 Chris Lockyer IB Flooring ltd
20 John Dussek Private
21 Ben Bradley South Downs Velo
22 Rowan Miller 4t+velo
23 Massimo Conforti Dulwich Paragon
24 Billy Fairman Team bottecchia UK
25 Iain Hawthorn Old Portlians CC
26 JP Saville Private
27 Jack Heather Team Bottecchia UK
28 Chris Gore Beckenham Rugby Cyclists
29 Tim Godden Team bottecchia uk
30 Luke De Quay East Grinstead CC


1 Patrick Manning GYCC
2 Chris Jenkinson WyndyMilla
3 Olly Nixon VO2 Development Team
4 Oliver Jones Ipswich BC
5 Ashley Evans VO2 Development Team
6 Remi Cruttenden PPYCC
7 Jack Marshall B + D CC

1 Ieuan Woods Charlotteville
2 Liam Hanks B + D CC

1 Mitchell Lacey B + D CC
2 Klaidas Lazickas B + D CC
3 Joseph Martin PPYCC
4 Henry Cordner Eastbourne Rovers
5 Charlie Marshall B + D CC
6 Rosie Dias B + D CC

UNDER 8/10
1 Lucas Barclay Artic Tacx
2 Lawrence Harkness Maison Du Velo
3 Mylo Cordner Eastbourne Rovers
4 Daniel Allpress Dorking
5 Luke Croc PPYCC
6 Ellis Robinson
7 Gilbert Cordner Eastbourne Rovers
8 Kai Barclay Artic Tacx


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,