Preview – Cadence Junior Road Race


Britain’s top Juniors head for Wales for the first round of the Peter Buckley road race series in 2014, the Cadence Junior RR

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Preview – Cadence Junior Road Race

The top under 19 riders in Britain head for Wales on Sunday for the Cadence Junior Road Race, the first round in the Peter Buckley road race series for 2014. With 100 riders on the start sheet, including the country’s top development teams such as Haribo Beacon, Spokes Racing, Velocity WD-­‐40 and RST Racing, the first round will see who the riders are with the best form coming out of winter and who to watch out for in 2014.


Geraint Thomas, from Wales, a former winner of the this event.

A look through the former winners list shows just how important these national series races are for up and coming cyclists. Former winners include Geraint Thomas and Erick Rowsell, both professionals in Europe this season. A classics winner in Ian Stannard is also in the list as well as the likes of AN Post’s Mark McNally, Orica GreenEdge pros Simon and Adam Yates, Sky pro Luke Rowe and Movistar’s Alex Dowsett. Several of the riders have gone on to become top British based pros as well.

Headquarters: Gwernyfed Leisure Centre, Three Cocks, Brecon, Powys, LD3 0SG
Race distance: 67.2 miles, 107.9 km. Neutralised Zone 2.5 miles, 4.0 km. 2. Seven laps of the course


Both Simon and Adam Yates have featured on the podium in this event.


1 Charlie Tanfield Adept Precision RT/NE Healthcare 2nd
2 Jack Mattock BH-­‐Solidor-­‐WAM Youth 2nd
3 Tristan Robbins BH-­‐Solidor-­‐Wamyouth 1st
4 Aaron Handley Bike BoxAlan/WhistonVelo 2nd
5 Max Spedding BirkenheadNorth End CC 3rd
6 Ellis Kirkbride Border City Wheelers CC 2nd
7 Hefin Evans Bynea CC 3rd
8 Euan Davies Cardiff Ajax CC 3rd
9 Matthew Gibbs Cardiff Ajax CC 3rd
10 Kinsey McIlquham Cardiff Ajax CC 3rd
11 Samuel Rees Cardiff JIF 3rd
12 Jez McCann Catford CC Equipe/Banks 2nd
13 Louis Modell Catford CC Equipe/Banks 2nd
14 Luke Morgan CC Luton 2nd
15 David Bolland Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
16 Elliott Reynolds Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
17 Joe Holt County Cycles Racing Team 2nd
18 Nicholas Jones County Cycles Racing Team 3rd
19 Ryan Brain Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club 3rd
20 Joseph Wiltshire Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club 2nd
21 Jonathan Chapman Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA) 3rd
22 Theo Doncaster Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA) 2nd
23 Cameron Woolsey Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA) 2nd
24 Ruari Yeoman East Scotland 2nd
25 Hector Lancaster East Scotland 3rd
26 Jordan Stronach East Scotland 3rd
27 Alexander Kinsley Edinburgh RC 2nd
28 Joseph Donohue Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club 2nd
29 Harry Hailwood Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club 3rd
30 Tomas Franklin Hargroves Cycles RT-­‐Specialized
31 Thomas Baylis HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team 1st
32 Joe Evans HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team 1st
33 Levi Moody HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team 1st
34 James Shaw HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team 1st
35 William Perrett Heanor Clarion CC 3rd
36 Jack Rebours Jersey Cycling Association 4th
37 Nathan Hereward Kingston Whls CC 3rd
38 Tom Marshall Leisure Lakes 3rd
39 Christopher Welburn Lichfield City CC 2nd
40 Jamie Dudley Manx Viking Whls CC 3rd
41 Alex Harvey Marsh Tracks Race Team 2nd
42 Robert Rogers Marsh Tracks Race Team 3rd
43 Ralf Hodgson Marton Race Team 2nd
44 Ricky Parsons Mid Devon CC 3rd
45 James Ellmore Mid Shropshire Whls 3rd
46 Jimmy Kershaw Mid Shropshire Whls 3rd
47 Preslav Dimitrov MJS Racing 2nd
48 James Eldridge NFTO Race Club 3rd
49 Stephen Williams NFTO Race Club 2nd
50 Ben Williams NFTO Race Club 3rd
51 Sean Henderson North Devon Wheelers
52 Callum McBrearty Nottingham Clarion CC 3rd
53 Duncan Heywood One and All Cycling 2nd
54 Max Stedman Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT 2nd
55 Karl Baillie Pedal Pushers 2nd
56 HarryCraig PH-­‐MAS Cycling 2nd
57 Scott Auld PH-­‐MAS Cycling 3rd
58 Oliver Payton PH-­‐MAS Cycling 2nd
59 Jack Kennett Prestige Velo Club 2nd
60 Tom England Priavte Member 3rd
61 Gabriel Cullaigh RST Racing Team 2nd
62 Nathan Draper RST Racing Team 1st
63 Danny Fox RST Racing Team 2nd
64 Joseph Fry RST Racing Team 2nd
65 Struan McInnes RST Racing Team 2nd
66 Joey Walker RST Racing Team 2nd
67 Hamish Carrick Speg -­‐ Project 51 2nd
68 Dan Gardner Speg -­‐ Project 51 2nd
69 Oliver Moors Speg -­‐ Project 51 1st
70 Stuart Balfour Spokes Racing Team 2nd
71 Ben Forsyth Spokes Racing Team 2nd
72 Lewis Grieve Spokes Racing Team 2nd
73 Fraser Martin Spokes Racing Team 2nd
74 Joshua Loughrie Sportcity Velo 2nd
75 Lewis Stevens Strada-­‐Sport 3rd
76 Ryan McGillick Summit Cycling 2nd
77 Sean Noon Team ASL360/The Health Boutique 2nd
78 Ben Chapman Team Corley Cycles 2nd
79 Zak Loney Team LFH 1st
80 Leon Mazzone Team Manx Telecom 2nd
81 Tom Jones Team Tor 2000 2nd
82 Leon Gledhill Teamwallis CHH Racing Team 2nd
83 Gwyn Lovibond Teamwallis CHH Racing Team 2nd
84 Sean McGovern Teamwallis CHH Racing Team 2nd
85 Ethan Lee The Shed Cycling Club 2nd
86 Matt Thorne TRCC (Towy Racing Cycle Club) 2nd
87 Jake Charlton VC Deal 3rd
88 Hisham Al-­‐Ramah VC Londres 3rd
89 Oliver Cliff VC Londres 3rd
90 George Jary VC Londres 3rd
91 Alexander Braybrooke Velocity WD-­‐40 3rd
92 Fabian Brennan Velocity WD-­‐40 3rd
93 Jack Escritt Velocity WD-­‐40 2nd
94 James Risk Weaver Valley CC 2nd
95 Oliver Bates Welwyn Wheelers CC 3rd
96 Oliver Maxwell Windmill Wheels Cycling Club 3rd
97 James Ireson Wolverhampton Whls 1st
98 Benjamin Manfield-­‐Yorke Wolverhampton Whls 2nd
99 Ryan Phillips Wolverhampton Whls 2nd
100 Jack Smith Wolverhampton Whls 3rd

1st Reserve Thomas Morgan
2nd Reserve Joseph Sutton
3rd Reserve George Evans
4th Reserve Macauley Carline
5th Reserve Oscar Williamson
6th Reserve Tom Bicknell

Event run as the Martyn Ashfield Classic RR:

2004 1 Geraint Thomas, 2 Ian Stannard 3 Richard Hepworth
2005 1 Alex Atkins, 2 Chris Opie, 3 Ian Stannard
2006 1 Andrew Griffiths, 2 Alex Dowsett, 3 Mark McNally
2007 1 Sam Webster, 2 Dennis Dunworth, 3 Luke Rowe
2008 1 Erick Rowsell, 2 Luke Rowe, 3 Mark Christian

Event run as the Cadence Junior RR:
2009 1 Alexander King, 2 Simon Yates, 3 Dominic Schils
2010 1 Tom Moses, 2 Lewis Balyckyi, 3 Adam Yates
2011 1. Jonathan Dibben, 2. Alex Peters, 3. Alistair Slater
2012 1. Tao Geoghan Hart, 2. Jonathan Dibben, 3. Chris Lawless
2013 Race Cancelled due to snow.


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,