News – Criterium International 2014


The 83rd edition of the Critérium International will be the fifth organised in Southern Corsica on March 29/30.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Criterium International 2014


The route and an initial list of riders enrolled were presented this morning in Porto-Vecchio. For his first participation in this three-stage race, Vincenzo Nibali will have to tame the characteristics of this event to fulfil his role of favourite.

They were not all able to enjoy the Grand Start of the 100th Tour de France or to light up one of the three Corsican stages that featured on the programme of the Le Tour’s start.

However, the elite riders expected in Porto-Vecchio will have an opportunity to taste the atmosphere that reigned last year and to continue to fine-tune their form and fitness on this concentrated stage race that calls on many different qualities.

To win, the riders will have to remain watchful on the opening stage which, in theory, is likely to be won by a sprinter such as Nacer Bouhanni or Romain Feillu. Soon after, the flat-stage specialists will have pride of place on the urban time-trial in which a number of specialists will be looking to make their mark: Simon Geschke or Gustav Larsson have already put in impressive showings in this exercise, but those who like to gamble will most likely be betting on Jean-Chrisophe Péraud, Bob Jungels or Rohan Dennis.

The climbers who can look after themselves on the flat will have probably done what is necessary to safeguard their chances of winning the general classification on the final stage which finishes at the Col de l’Ospédale pass. This decisive mixture will in particular be observed and dissected by the leader of the Astana team, Vincenzo Nibali, supported by Janez Brajkovic.

The multiple talents of Jérôme Coppel could also be precious when it comes to the crunch, as well as last Tour de France supercombative, Christophe Riblon.

Finally, whether interested or not by the general classification, the climbers will have a real opportunity to test themselves when they tackle the Col de l’Ospédale pass. Pierrick Fédrigo, winner of this same stage in 2010 and 2012, would like to return to centre stage, but risks having to leave the spotlight to Eduardo Sepulveda, Andy and Frank Schleck, or even Niki Sorensen.

15 teams – the main participants
Colombia: Chalapud, Duarte (Col)
Team Saxo-Tinkoff: N. Sorensen (Dan)
AG2R La Mondiale: Péraud, Riblon (Fra)
Cofidis, Solutions Crédits: Coppel, Simon (Fra)
FDJ: Fédrigo, Bouhanni, Geniez (Fra)
Bretagne-Séché Environnement: R. Feillu, B. Feillu (Fra), Sepulveda (Arg)
Team Europcar: Gautier, Sicard (Fra)
Team La Pomme Marseille: Rostollan, Di Gregorio (Fra)
BigMat-Auber 93: Jakin (Est)
Team Netapp-Endura: Machado (Por)
Astana Pro Team: Brajkovic (Slo), Lutsenko (Kaz), Nibali (Ita)
Team Giant-Shimano: Hupond (Fra), Geschke (Ger)
IAM Cycling: Frank, Tschopp (Swi)
Garmin-Sharp: Dennis (Aus)
Trek Factory Racing: A. Schleck, F. Schleck, Jungels (Lux)


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK