News – Star Studded Ghent-Wevelgem


Star Studded Ghent-Wevelgem – Sagan, Boonen, Cancellera, Kristoff, Hushovd, Cavendish, Demare, Greipel, Goss, Degenkolb

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Star Studded Ghent-Wevelgem

Press Release
On Sunday, 30th March, the international World Tour race Ghent-Wevelgem will bring the best riders together. The profile of participants is more impressive than ever with Sagan, Boonen, Cancellera, Kristoff, Hushovd, Cavendish, Demare, Greipel, Goss, Degenkolb, Boasson Hagen and many other big names.

The race follows a unique route through the area that was the battleground of the First World War 100 years ago. This is the reason that, from this year on, the subtitle ‘In Flanders Fields’ will be added to the name Ghent-Wevelgem.

Below: Britain’s only winner of the race Barry Hoban who beat two of the sports icons, Merckx and De Vlaeminck.

The metaphor of the riders as warring soldiers, bikes for weapons, springs to mind. For decades, the Ghent-Wevelgem route has passed no less than 80 monuments, cemeteries and anecdotes with tremendous historical value. In collaboration with the ‘In Flanders Fields Museum’, they are now mapped onto an official Hotspot List.

The production of the competition footage is covered by the VRT, who will capture some of these WWI hotspots. This way, international cycling enthusiasts will be introduced to this heritage.

The race thus wants to contribute to a fitting commemoration of the Great War and keep the memory of the conflict alive for generations to come. It is a tribute to the heroes and the 600,000 victims who fell in Flanders Fields.

Ghent-Wevelgem was organised for the first time in 1934. Since then, 76 winners have crossed the finish line, 23 times, the winner was or became a World Champion. The race is the second of six historic spring classics, after Milan-San Remo and before the Tour of Flanders.

Below: Mark Cavendish competing in the race as World Champion

In the previous three years the race was won by Tom Boonen (2x) and Peter ‘wheelie’ Sagan.

The international women’s Ghent-Wevelgem event is also organised on the same day for the third time this year. Previous winners are Kirsten Wild and British champion Elizabeth Armistead.

In the cycling world, the tour is known for: the intense fan formation during the flat run, which takes place in part on the remains of ancient Roman roads, the typical explosive Flemish hills, the cobbles on Kemmel Hill with double passage, and an exciting direct finish from the Menin Gate in Ypres (Memorial to the Missing) to the finish line in Wevelgem.

British winners (Men):
1974: Barry Hoban (Eddy Merkx was second!)

Other British podiums
2007: Roger Hammond (2nd)
1989: Sean Yates (2nd)
1963: Tom Simpson (2nd)



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK