Rider report – Bottrill smashes course record in win number 3


One of the county’s top riders, Matt Bottrill smashed the course record for the Coalville Wheelers Open 10 on Saturday as he wins his third race of 2014

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Rider report – Bottrill smashes course record in win number 3
(Picture –  John Pick )


On Saturday afternoon, Coalville Wheelers put on their annual promotion of the Bridget Bailey, Memorial 10 mile time Trial. The event was run on a new course which has been used once this season, with a course record of 22:15 Set by Matthew Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Center).

The course is a true test over rolling B roads twisting and turning in every direction. The event started in the village of Long-Whatton-Diseworth-Griffydam- and then finished in the small village of Belton.

The warm weather returned but the high gust of winds would mean hard conditions for all riders taking part. The event got underway, and many riders where struggling to break the 24 minute barrier, proving what a hard day it was.

The first rider to set a high standard was Nick Cave (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) with 23:23, seeded rider James Perkins (Zeinth CC Buzz Cycles) was next to start but with a head cold, he climb off at the half way point due to lacking power!

Last man to start was Matthew Bottrill (www.drag2zero.com), like Perkins, also complaining of a head cold (aka man flue) but this did nothing to stop him coming to the event in a determined mood.

On his local training road’s, Bottrill selected his finest gear, to take the start. Leaving the start at 3:01 Bottrill, was soon hitting the first ascent of the day, slamming down on the pedals, the speed looking good and his minute man in sight.

Pushing even harder after turning into the block headwind, his family and supporters at the side of the road, he lifted the pace even harder to fly pass the time keeper in an incredible time of 20:50, smashing the course record by 1:25 and winning the event by 2:33!

Asked about his winning ride, he said “I have to say I’m pretty made up with that. I was unsure if I should ride. I came down with a head cold last night, thanks Kids! But with this being my local event, training roads and with my family coming out to watch, I wanted to ride.”

“I was shocked by the time and the power I produced. But its nice to see I’m moving in the right direction. It was great seeing so many people out supporting me on the road. Im glad I put on a good show”

Next Week Bottrill, rides round two in the National TT Circuit Series. Be sure to check in to see how he does.


1 Matt Bottrill wwwdrag2zero.com Sen 20.50
2 Nick Cave Lutterworth CRT 23.23
3 Pat Gould Matlock CC 23.39
4 Ian King VC Long Eaton 23.40
5 Sean Vincent Team Zenith BUZ 23.51
6 Gareth Pymm Coalville Whrs 24.06
7 Chris Rimes Peterborough CC 24.07
8 Jason Seabrdge Mercia CC 24.17
9 Rob Stephenson Coalville Whrs 25.04
10 Mick Wills Hinckley CRC 25.05
11 Guy Webster Derby Mercury 25.17
12 Pete Lavine Coalville Whrs 25.26
13 Chris Sprott Leicester Forest 25.30
14 Jon Hartley VC Long Eaton 25.33
15 Andy Moore Lincoln Whrs 25.45
16 Steve Howgill Leicestershire RC 25.49
17 Jonathan Ellis Royal Sutton CC 25.50
18 Steve Heggs Coalville Whrs 25.56
19 Nigel Finch Mercia CC 26.01
20 Steve Welsh Welland Valley CC 26.03
21 Steve Boat Welland Valley CC 26.13
22 Carl Roberts Lutterworth CRT 26.16
23 Dave Bates Sth Pennine RC 26.19
24 Ben Startin Mercia CC 26.30
25 Niel Holden Ratae RC 26.36
26 Chris Sidney Coalville Whrs 26.48
27 Robert Prue Ashfield RC 26.57
28 Ashley Long Coalville Whrs 26.59
29 Matt Simons Mercia CC 27.04
30 Jeff Bowler Sth Pennine RC 27.11
31 Stewart Marsh Matlock CC 27.20
32 John Crewe Coalville Whrs 27.24
33 Steve Cornish V C Nottingham 27.43
34 Alex Whitmore Ratae RC 28.07
35 Jason Feltus Coalville Whrs 28.17
36 Ryan Ballard Coalville Whrs 28.23
37 Nev Bray Coalville Whrs 28.46
38 Nigel Briggs Sth Pennine RC 29.01
38 David Manship Leicester Forest 29.01
40 Steve Randle Sth Pennine RC 29.17
41 Alan Dazell VC Long Eaton 29.21
42 Mike Davis Beeston RC 29.37
43 Chris Wilcox RateaRC 29.49
44 Makhan Dhinsa Sth Pennine RC 29.57
45 Alan Morris Hinckley CRC 30.11
46 Ken Stevens Sth Pennine RC 30.35
47 Ellie Armstrong Coalville Whrs 31.54
48 Ron Hallam Sth Pennine RC 33.19
49 Stephanie King VC Long Eaton 34.36
50 Annette Roberts Ratae RC 35.14
51 Richard burnett VC Long Eaton 36.12
52 Jill Morris Hinckley CRC 38.17


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,