Result & Report – Nidderdale Classic Road Race


Ewan Farrow of the Ilkley Cycling Club winner of Harrogate Nova’s Nidderdale Classic Road Race on Sunday (April 6)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result & Report – Nidderdale Classic Road Race
(thanks to Dave Morris)

Ewan Farrow of Ilkley Cycling Club claims maiden Nidderdale Classic Road Race victory with an emphatic display of climbing and time trialling.

The bunch stayed together for the first out lap and then two riders broke free on the climb to Dacre on the second time around. This was Ewan Farrow from Ilkley Cycling Club and Ben Jacobs from Albarosa.

The riders were strung out down the descent but there was a pack of chasers only a handful of seconds behind.
The lead riders stayed together for two laps and continued to extend their lead considerably, but Ewan seemed to be climbing stronger than Ben who dropped back on the 3rd lap to leave Ewan alone at the front.

Ewan maintained his lead until the end taking a fantastic solo victory but the chasing group came close to reeling him in with James Sharp of York Cycle Works making repeated attacks to entice a reaction from the pursuers.

He eventually broke free at the top of the final climb and powered ahead to close to with 20 seconds of Ewan on the line. Ben Jacobs of Ilkley Cycling club made it at very good day out for them by claiming 3rd place. Simon Maudsley was the fastest sprinter in the pact claiming 4th.

The weather was favourable considering the forecast with only a brief shower and the roads stayed mostly dry for this hilly and technical course.

A big thank you to all the riders who made it a great race and the marshals and friends of Harrogate Nova for their invaluable assistance on the day.

1) Ewan Farrow – Ilkley Cycling Club
2) James Sharp – York Cycle Works
3) Ben Hallworth – Ilkley Cycling Club
4) Simon Maudsley – Team Vertex
5) Jordan Bason – NFTO
6) Steven Guymer – Clay Cross
7) Karl Denton – Ouseburn Coffee Company
8) Craig Battersby – Chronomaster
9) Sam Ward – PH-Mas Cycling
10) Alistair Wareham – Team Swift
11) Nick Spencer –
12) Martyn Gordon – Champion Systems
13) Matthew Williams – Chevin Cycles Trek
14) Christopher Palfreeman – Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT
15) Andrew Shaw – Out of the Saddle




Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,