News – Good Friday Track Open


Next Friday The Southern Counties Cycling Union is bringing it’s legendary Good Friday Meeting to the London 2012 Olympic Velodrome

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Good Friday Track Open


Next Friday The Southern Counties Cycling Union is bringing it’s legendary Good Friday Meeting to Lee Valley VeloPark, home of the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, to help celebrate the opening year of the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park and the cycling legacy of London 2012.

The Good Friday Meeting, with a history going back over 110 years, will be the first open-entry event to take place at Lee Valley Velopark and welcomes a unique combination of elite, professional and club-level riders from across Europe as well as our own national and local talent.

With just over one week to go, it gives us great pleasure to announce the names of just some of the riders taking part.

This year’s British competitors include;
— Ed Clancy MBE – Ed is two-time Olympic Gold medalist, Olympic Bronze medalist and five-time world champion and is a well known and highly respected member of the British Cycling Team. When he’s not racing in Team GB kit, he is also a key contributor to the ongoing success of the Rapha Condor JLT racing team.

– Andy Tennant – Professional cyclist for Madison-Genesis, European and World Champion and a pivotal member of the record-breaking London 2012 GB Olympic pursuit squad.
– Adam Duggleby – 2013 National Team Pursuit Champion & GB Development Squad Paracycling Pilot
– Alistair Rutherford – 2013 National Masters Points Race Champion and 2013 National Team Pursuit Champion
– Jody Cundy MBE – former World and Olympic Paracycling Champion and a much-loved Good Friday supporter

Local team Nuun-Sigma Sport-London are delighted to be returning once again with a selection of their top track performers . Newly crowned National Derny Champion James Holland-Leader will be showing off his champions jersey for the first time in the motor paced event. James is joined by seasoned track riders John Coolahan, Cameron Fraser and George Gori. This line up is sure to entertain.

We also welcome back Six-Day racing and Revolution Series stars Christian Grasmann & Leif Lampater from Germany’s Rudy Project racing team and their team-mate Nico Hesslich who is the current German Madison champion alongside Lampater, and completing our six-day roll of honour will be Italy’s Manuel Cazzaro.

The womens’ field this year also reads as a “who’s who” of women’s racing, including; Lydia Boylan, Carolien van Herrikhuyzen, Hanna Blount, Ellie Coster, and Anna Railton, as well as a host of elite riders from GB and Belgium.

This year the total prize fund exceeds £4,000 and features all of the races which are synonymous with the SCCU Good Friday Meeting;
• Elite & White Hope Sprint competitions
• Derny-paced racing
• Womens Sprint, Scratch & Keirin events
• White Hope Keirin
• Super Elimination
• Points Race
• Ron Becket Scratch Race
• Elite Mens’ Keirin

The afternoon culminates with the 60 lap Golden Wheel scratch race as our grand finale. Racing begins at 3.00pm and the doors open at 2.15pm. Tickets are available in advance on-line from or on the door (limited availability)


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,