Report & Results РApr̬s Whacky Races 6


Darren Barclay, George Stainton-Ellis & Rowan Miller winners at week 6 of the Après Whacky Races 6 at Preston Park, Brighton

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Report & Results РApr̬s Whacky Races 6

Another good day of racing here at Preston Park Velo, Brighton held in beautiful sunshine with full fields in the 4ths and 3rds enjoyed by families and friends, with fathers and sons racing.

A smaller field but a strong one set the scene for good aggressive racing throughout. Once again it seems the vets are up for it coming to race their bikes with Jason Edwards and Darren Barclay involved throughout.

Breaks galore with Rhys Clegg, Toby Neave, and Ryan Visser all looking set. Young Matt Webber showed good mettle again, moving up and working maybe too hard for such a spinny gear.

With a canny head with 12 or so to go Darren Barclay pinged off with Jason Edwards before being realed back again, ashore breather and off Mr Barclay went again with 7 to go. Queue the time for the bunch to look at each other – a short chase from 5 to 3 then sat up and raced for 2nd.

Arctic Tacxs Darren Barclay kept his head down, soloing to a deserved, classy victory, making it a generational one/two with his son Lucas winning the under 10.
Wiggles Andrew Shackel went for it with two left and stayed away to be clear second, Jason Edwards took third. One for the vets…

A good aggressive race with lots of pace changes kept coming back together till the last two where those keeping their powder dry took flight. Rob Fuller did the lead out for Kiko Piai Brighton Mitre, proving to be too early up the rise into the headwind, to be passed by Team Dassi George Stainton-Ellis 1st and Matt Clarke London Dynamo.

A bunch sprint after strong racing again was taken by Rowan Miller 4T+ Velo from Andrew Davis Kingston Wheelers and Addiscombe CCs Ashley Nunn. Good safe race again – well done all.

1. Darren Barclay Arctic Tacx
2. Andrew Shackel Team Wiggle
3. Jason Edwards Private Member
4. Ryan Visser CSE Racing
5. Rhys Clegg PMR Toachim House
6. Matthew Webber Catford CC Equipe Banks
7. Toby Neave VC St. Raphael
8. Jonnie Blackman Beckenham RC
9. Stuart Baldwin 4T+ Velo
10. Oliver Jedres Dulwich Paragon

1. George Stainton-Ellis Team Dassi
2. Matt Clarke London Dynamo
3. Kiko Piai Brighton Mitre
4. Joe Henstridge SRAM
5. Harvey Morcombe Fareham Wheelers
6. Albert Battaglin Dulwich Paragon
7. Stuart Hodd PB Cycle Coaching
8. Harry Hailwood Fareham Wheelers
9. Paul Hort-Hopkins Handsling Racing
10. Calum Gillespie

1. Rowan Miller 4T+ Velo
2. Andrew Davis Kingston Wheelers
3. Ashley Nunn Addiscombe CC
4. Joe Booth Dulwich Paragon
5. Billy Fairman Bottecchia UK
6. Chris Ewing Fareham Wheelers
7. Jake Mitchell Abllio SFA
8. David Hewett Adalta CC
9. James Turzynski Kingston Wheelers
10. Massimo Conforti Dulwich Paragon

1.Charlie Cooper I – Team CC
2.James Brickell Fareham Wheelers
3.Olly Nixon VO2 Development

1.Mitchell Lacey B and D CC
2.Klaidas Laziekas B and D CC
3.Joseph Martin PPYCC

1.Lucas Barclay Arctic
2.W. Goodwill PPYCC
3.Daniel Allpress Dorking

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,