Report & Result – Sheffrec Spring Road Race


Tobyn Horton of Madison Genesis wins the Sheffrec Spring Road Race on Sunday in Yorkshire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – Sheffrec Spring Road Race
(Thanks to Marc Etches & Michael Craig for the photos)

Sixty eight riders departed the Ruddle Centre at Briathwell to tackle 18 laps of the Stanton Circuit. The riders were met with very windy conditions and the block head wind on the main start finish straight was a very tough section of the circuit.


Racing was frantic from lap one with attacks coming thick and fast. The elite riders were soon showing their strength with moves coming from pretty much all of them. In all of this, local rider and recently new father to his second child, Dean Downing remained vigilant covering most moves.

Eventually after 4 laps a decisive move came. A strong group of 13 riders broke clear and soon forged out a 38 second gap over the bunch. In the break was last years winner Tom Bustard (Velosure Giordana), Dean Downing (NFTO Pro Cycling), David Shackleton (Wilsons Wheels), Alistair Rutherford (Wheelbase Altura), Tobyn Horton (Madison Genesis), Alex Dalton (Squadra RT), William Haynes (Clay Cross Road), Tom Bracegirdle (Kuota – Spinergy – GSG), Ashley Proctor (Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo), Levi Moody (HARIBO Beacon), Jacob Trotter (Squadra RT) and Hamish Graham (Green Jersey RT).


These riders soon went 48 seconds ahead. With 9 laps to go, Horton attacked and took with him Downing, Bustard, Shackleton, Rutherford, Haynes and Dalton. The gap to the bunch then grew to a maximum of 1:20 with 3 laps to go.

Further back, the main bunch were trying to close the gap with Duncan Moralee (Strategic Lions) on the front on several occasions. In the closing stages, Downing attacked and rode a lap solo, much to the delight of his Dad, Kenny watching, but was brought back with just over a lap to go.

As the bell rang, Bustard and Horton looked strong and this showed on the faces of the rest as the wind had become very strong in the closing stages. As the riders came into finishing straight, it was Horton who broke clear with Downing distancing Bustard with 150 metres to go.


Horton rolled over the line five seconds ahead of Downing with Bustard a further 12 seconds behind. The original escapees, Shackleton, Haynes, Rutherford and Dalton all hung on and stayed clear of the fragmented bunch. Andrew Nichols, Langsett Cycles RT headed a small buch with Nathan Wilson Wilsons Wheels and Duncan Moralee, Strategic Lions RT rounding off the top ten.

1. Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis Elite 61.5 miles in 2:25.11
2. Dean Downing NFTO (UCI Team) Elite @ 5 seconds
3. Tom Bustard Velosure Giodarna Elite @ 12 seconds
4. David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels Elite @ 20 seconds
5. William Haynes Clay Cross Road Team 1st @1:09
6. Alistair Rutherford Wheelbase Altura MGD Elite @ 1:52
7. Alex Dalton Squadra RT 2nd Jun @2:22
8. Andrew Nichols Langsett Cycles RT 2nd @2:32
9. Nathan Wilson Wilsons Wheels 1st @ Same Time
10. Duncan Moralee Strategic Lions RT 1st
11. Tom Bracegirdle Kuota – Spinergy – GSG 1st @ Same Time
12. Dominic Smith Retford & District Wheelers 2nd @ 3:43
13. Philip West VC St Raphael 3rd
14. Lee Baldwin Champion System/Club Roost/Maxgear 1st
15. Joey Walker RST Racing Team 2nd Jun @ same Time
16. Sean Noon Edinburgh RC 2nd @ 4:05
17. Blake Cowley Clay Cross Road Team 2nd @ 4:25
18. Luke Beswick Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles 2nd @ Same Time
19. Hamish Graham Green Jersey RT 3rd @ 4:39
20. George Moore CC Giro 1st @ Same Time
21. Michael Sloanes Sunderland Clarion CC 2nd @ 4:49
22. Ben Hallworth Ilkley Cycling Club 2nd @ Same Time
23. Craig Anderson Achieve-Skinnergate Racing Elite @ 4:59
24. Alex Jones Audlem Cycling Club 2nd
25. James Alder Cycleways Sports & Leisure 1st @5:16
26. Alex Luhrs PH-MAS Cycling 2nd
27. Richard Moore Squadra RT 2nd
28. Daniel Webb Team Cystic Fibrosis 2nd
29. Aaron Handley Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo 2nd Jun
30. Struan McInnes RST Racing Team 2nd Jun
31. Simon Maudsley Team Vertex 2nd @ Same Time
32. Danny Kelly
33. Jacob Trotter Squadra RT 2nd
34. Christopher Thompson V S Cycles, Brighouse 2nd
35. Mathew Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC 3rd
36. Alastair Hepworth Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo 1st
37. Ashley Proctor Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo 1st
38. Julian Ramsbottom Pedal Pushers 3rd
39. David Brearley Scunthorpe Polytechnic CC 2nd
40. Ashley Marshall Aire Valley Racing Team 2nd
41. Daniel Keena Squadra RT 2nd
42. Connor Swift Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo 1st @7.21
43. John Hall 3rd @ 2 laps


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,