Report & Result – Yorkshire Women’s Road Race Series Round 1


Jessie Walker sprints to victory in the Women’s Sheffrec Spring Road Race, round 1 of the Yorkshire Women’s Road Race Series

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – Yorkshire Women’s Road Race Series Round 1
(thanks to Mark Etches &  Michael Craig. for the pic)

Sheffrec Spring Road Race
The first round of the Yorkshire Women’s Road Race Series kicked off this weekend with a race on the Stainton circuit in South Yorkshire. A great entry of 44 riders took part and from lap one the short 3.4 mile rolling course made for some great racing although the block head wind up the start / finish straight made an attempts to break clear very hard.


The race was policed very well by local Matrix Fitness – Vulpine riders, Jessie Walker and Penny Rowson. These two, along with Tanya Griffiths, Starley Primal Pro Cycling were very active over the 34 mile race. Efforts from PH-MAS Cycling and Team Jadan who were well represented all came with no reward. Going into the last lap a bunch gallop was on the cards and sure enough the riders came into sight on the final finish straight all together.

Showing her class, Jessie Walker made her move at just the right time, to win clear of a charging Tanya Griffiths who beat Walkers team mate, Penny Rowson to claim 2nd.

Rowson held on for 3rd and Sinead Burke, PH-MAS Cycling came in 4th with Sam Thoy, Team Jadan, 5th. First 4th cat rider was Clara Sandelind from promoting club Sheffrec CC. The next race in this popular series is Team Swift Road Races on the 11th May at Bishop Burton.

Women 2/3/4 Result
1. Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd 35 miles in 01:34.2
2. Tanya Griffiths Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
3. Penny Rowson Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd
4. Sinead Burke PH-MAS Cycling 3rd
5. Sam Thoy Team Jadan 2nd
6. Nikola Butler VC St Raphael 2nd
7. Victoria Hood Team Jadan 2nd
8. Alison Kinloch PH-MAS Cycling 3rd
9. Elizabeth Waterhouse Honister 92 3rd
10. Annabel Sill Team Jadan 2nd
11. Lou Collins Beeston RC 3rd
12. Jessica OBrien RST Racing Team 3rd
13. Elisa Zamboni Beeston RC 3rd
14. Suzie Richards Albarosa Cycling Club 3rd
15. Jennifer McAndrew Witham Wheelers Cycling Club 3rd
16. Clara Sandelind Sheffrec CC 4th – 1st 4th Cat Rider
17. Jenny Woods Albarosa Cycling Club 4th
18. Natalie Hodson PH-MAS Cycling 4th
19. Louise Marsden VC Norwich 3rd
20. Maggi Tebrake Beeston RC 4th
21. Lauren Brown Team Jadan 2nd
22. Claire Rutherford Team Wheelguru 2nd
23. Hannah (Nina) Benson Ilkley Cycling Club 4th
24. Frances White Team Jadan 3rd All Same Time
25. Lisa Leonard Squadra Donne 3rd @ 5:36
26. Laura Morgan Merlin Cycles 4th @ 8:41



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,