News – BMC Wins TTT at Trentino


BMC powered to victory at an average speed of 56.62 kilometres an hour on the opening stage team time trial at the Giro del Trentino

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – BMC Wins TTT at Trentino

Daniel Oss was first to cross the finish line for the BMC Racing Team and pulled on the fuchsia jersey of race leader. Oss gave the cheering crowd at Arco a “hometown win,” as he was born in Trento, less than an hour’s drive away. “It is amazing because this is my home and I did not expect this result,” Oss said.

“I was a bit nervous before, but I wanted to to do this and we did it. So I feel good now.” The BMC Racing Team covered the 13.4 km in 14:12, 15 seconds faster than runner-up NetApp Endura and nineteen seconds faster than Team Sky in third.

Movistar Team was fourth and Cannondale Pro Cycling Team was fifth, at 13 seconds. Joining Oss on the winning team was Brent Bookwalter, Yannick Eijssen, Cadel Evans, Martin Kohler, Sebastian Lander, Steve Morabito and Rick Zabel, who earned the white jersey of best young rider. The BMC Racing Team also won the opening stage team time trial in the 2012 edition of the Giro del Trentino, though none of the riders from that squad were part of Tuesday’s team.

The victory was the BMC Racing Team’s 10th of the season and its third straight in a seven-day span, adding to Philippe Gilbert’s victories Sunday at Amstel Gold Race and last Wednesday at Brabantse Pijl. Oss established several personal milestones: it was his first victory since joining the BMC Racing Team before the 2012 season, his first time pulling on a leader’s jersey in his professional career and the first time he was part of a winning team time trial squad.

Sport Director Fabio Baldato said the team’s performance in the opening stage of the four-day race went perfectly to plan. “It was great to be here two days before and work together on the time trial bikes,” Baldato said. “Everybody was really strong. We started full gas. We said we needed to start fast and be on the limit immediately.”

Baldato said there was no pre-race plan for who would lead the team across the finish line. “I didn’t want to plan who would be first but I was thinking it would be nice for Daniel because he lives here, he’s at home with all the fans and now he can spend more time with the journalists and give some peace to Cadel early,” Baldato said. “But for sure, from tomorrow, Cadel is the only leader we have.”

1. BMC Racing Team 14:02
Evans, Zabel, Oss,

2. Team NetApp – Endura 0:15
Camano, König, De La Cruz, Thwaites,

3. Team Sky 0:19
Wiggins, Deignan, Siutsou

4. Movistar Team 0:22
Dowsett, Anton, Visconti

5. Cannondale 0:23 55.769 BASSO Ivan 3 (1.5)
Viviani, Basso etc

6. Astana Pro Team 0:29
7. RusVelo 0:31
8. Lampre-Merida 0:33
9. CCC Polsat Polkowice 0:36
10. Team Colombia 0:37
11. Neri Sottoli 0:38
12. MTN – Qhubeka 0:40
13. AG2R La Mondiale 0:44
14. Bardiani – CSF 0:48
15. Caja Rural – Seguros RGA
16. Androni Giocattoli – Venezuela 0:49


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,