Report & Results – Forge Valley Circuit Race 1


Daniel Jackson & Andrew Nichols winners at the first races at Forge Valley which were held in damp conditions

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Forge Valley Circuit Race 1
(Thanks Marc)

After a full day of heavy rain, both races were rain free but the circuit remained wet and posed a challenge to all the riders. The first race saw over thirty 3rd and 4th cats and the pace was fast from lap one.

Local rider Liam O’Toole, Sheffrec CC pushed the pace hard at the front and riders struggled on the wet corners and breaks started to appear. Strong all race was Andy Moore Autocentres Racing pairing of Andy Bishop and Adam Turner both taking turns to attack the depleting field.

Entering into the final few laps the front group was down to around 20 riders and the winner would come from this group. With 1.5 laps to go James Mappin from Sheffrec CC attacked and gained a small advantage but was soon brought back.
The pack remain together as the bell rang for the last lap. After being the strongest rider all race Liam O’Toole attacked but lost his rear wheel 2 corners from the line and ended up on the grass. He would have certainly been in the top 3 if he hadn’t lost his battle with the testing corner. 4 riders broke clear in the sprint with Daniel Jackson, Matlock CC edging out first year junior Robert Harper, RST followed by Michael Brown, Birdwell Wheelers and the Andy Moore Autocentres Racing pairing of Bishop and Turner came in 4th and 5th.

The E/1/2/3 race saw a small field contest 22 laps of the 1K circuit. Andy Nichols from Langsett Cycles set the pace from the gun with Starley Pro Cycling’s Ryan Davis matching his every move. the Autocentres Racing pairing of Bishop and Turner raced this race too and soon showed that they are strong enough to match riders in higher category races.

The small field soon saw 6 riders break away, These included Davis and Nichols, along with Bishop, Turner, Mark Davies and Daniel Web, both from Team Cystic Fibrosis. Attack after attack came but the the 6 riders stayed together. Eventually Mark Davies was dropped in the closing stages at the pace was too much for him.

Andy Bishop broke clear with 2 laps to go and the 4 behind all looked at each other to chase and he soon forged out a 100 metre advantage and looked very strong as he flew around the corners. The gap looked to be coming back but the Andy Moore Autocentres Racing rider pressed on and held the gap and looked like taking the win only to fall on the same corner O’Toole came to grief on.

Bishop was soon swamped by the chasing four and was out of the running. In the gallop it was Davis who opened up the sprint only to see Nichols take the inside line on the last bend to take the win. Ryan Davis was 2nd, Adam Turner in 3rd with Daniel Webb in 4th. Andy Bishop rolled in 5th having battled to get back on the quartet but the energy spent chasing back on put pay to any chance in the sprint.
3/4 Race
1 Daniel Jackson Matlock CC
2 Robert Harper RST Racing Team
3 Michael Brown Birdwell Wheelers
4 Andy Bishop Andy Moore Autocentres
5 Adam Turner Andy Moore Autocentres
6 Andrew Hilton Bolsover & District Cycling Club
7 Andy Turner Sheffrec CC
8 James Mappin Sheffrec CC
9 Xavier Scott Bolsover & District Cycling Club
10 Alex Whiting Bolsover & District Cycling Club
E123 Race
1 Andrew Nichols Langsett Cycles RT
2 Ryan Davis Starley Primal Pro Cycling
3 Adam Turner Andy Moore Autocentres
4 Daniel Webb Team Cystic Fibrosis
5 Andy Bishop Andy Moore Autocentres
6 Mark Davies Team Cystic Fibrosis
7 Danny Lowthorpe Langsett Cycles RT
8 Jon Schofield Team Cystic Fibrosis
9 Joe Brown Cycleways Sports & Leisure
The races continue on the 8th May with a 4th cat only race and a 234 race.


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,