Corley Cycles 3-Day – Tour of Milton Keynes


Riding as fifth man for the second Team Corley Cycles quintet, Jacob Tipper (KTM Road & Trail) won the opening stage of the Corley Cycles 3-Day Tour of Milton Keynes at the National Bowl on Friday evening.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Corley Cycles 3-Day – Tour of Milton Keynes

Stage 1 – by Gordon Wiseman
With a nearly 80 strong field forming up for the classic Bowl distance of 1 hour plus five laps, the opening attacks and chases finally forced a gap splitting the field in half after about 20 minutes. And with nearly 45 minutes on the clock the tail-enders started to be lapped.

A group of five then pulled away off the front. They looked dangerously like the winning move but no one in the chasing bunch was prepared to give up and as the final laps started to be counted down the field was pulled back together.

Coming through the final gate at the bottom of the circuit the field was strung out in a line but powering up the drag to the chequered flag Tipper pulled out a gap of two bike lengths to take stage one from the fast finishing Lewis Atkins (Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT). The home team’s William Goulbourne was provisionally judged to have taken the final bonus seconds ahead of WyndyMilla’s Jake Hales.

Jacob Tipper – “I’m really happy with that win. I was here last night and I won then as well. I’ve only raced here three or four times before so to have won twice, yes I’m very happy with that. The rest of the KTM team are riding at the Wiltshire GP this weekend so I wanted to get some racing in my legs and was offered the chance to be fifth man for the Corley squad.

“To be quite honest, I was watching the racing as I didn’t really know how I’d feel after last night. It was an aggressive race but generally the moves were all being covered and I was more than happy to let the other teams do all the work and take advantage of that. I’m sure they’ll more than make up for that by marking me out of the race in the coming stages”.

1. Jacob Tipper (KTM Road & Trail)
2. Lewis Atkins (Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT)
3. William Goulbourne (Team Corley Cycles)
4. Jake Hales (WyndyMilla Reynolds)
5. Jamie Pine (Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT)
6. Michael Smith (Team Corley Cycles)
7. Jonathan Shuster (Team Corley Cycles)
8. Tony Gibb (CSE Racing)
9. Tom Bracegirdle (Kuota – Spinergy – GSG)
10. Stephen Cavey (Catford CC Equipe/Banks)

Overall after stage 1 (after bonus seconds are taken into account)
1. Jacob Tipper (KTM Road & Trail)
2. Lewis Atkins (Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT) @ 2 seconds
3. William Goulbourne (Team Corley Cycles) @ 4 seconds


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,