Results & Report – RTTC Circuit Series 4


Matt Bottrill, Julian Ramsbottom, Sarah Storey & Rik Waddon winners in round 4 of the RTTC Circuit Series on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results & Report – RTTC Circuit Series 4

Bottrill takes convincing win in Round Four of National Time Trial Series

Sunday morning and some of the finest time trialists gathered in the small town of Bassionwaite in the Lake District to take part in round four of the National Time Trial Series.

The course is known for its amazing views, technical circuit around the lake. With overcast skies and with a chill in the air, it was going to be a hard days racing on the 31.2 mile circuit.


The first off the riders set off with the last 10 set off at two minute intervals. First rider to set the standard was Scott Walker of Mg Decor 1:09:14 looking to make a podium position. Walker would later have to settle for 5th place.

Mean while out on the course the battle for the podium was taking place. It was James Ratcliffe-Fred Williams Racing, the ex-International road rider set a very rapid 1:08:11.

Christopher Fennell of PMR@ Toachim House, was next to start. Just two minutes in front of Matthew Bottrill of, the youngster started well, and was soon heading for a podium place.

Botttrill left the start at 9:29am, and was soon up to speed and on a mission to break to the course record of 1:03:37, set by Micheal Hutchinson, but with the cold air, the conditions were against the riders.

Bottrill however was soon overtaking his 2 minute man and his opening lap of 31:40, was right on record form, pushing all the way to the line, and producing even more power than the opening lap. The wind though had picked up and Bottrill stopped the clock in a very rapid 1:04:08, a winning margin of over 4 minutes but still 30 secs shy of the course record.

After the ride, Matt said “I’m satisfied with the result. It’s a very good winning margin but of course I wanted the record. The wind must of really picked up on the last lap. I rode the last 7 miles 10 watts higher than the opening lap, which was quicker. But the last section was just too hard. It’s been a hard weeks training, so to come here and still knock out a very descent winning margin means I’m very happy”

Next week Bottrill take part in South Pennie Rc 25 mile time trial. So check in to see how he does.

1 Matthew Bottrill 01:04:08
2 James Ratcliffe Fred Williams Racing 01:08:11
3 Christopher Fennell PMR @ Toachim House 01:08:25
4 Jonathan Parker PMR @ Toachim House 01:08:31
5 Scott Walker MG Decor Team Carbon Bikes Solutions 01:09:14
6 Robin Ovenden Caesarean CC (Jersey) 01:09:59
7 Warren Gell 01:11:35
8 Steve Daintith Warrington RC 01:13:57
9 Craig Horseman Border City Whs CC 01:14:13
10 Tim Wilcock Tyneside Vagabonds CC 01:16:12
11 Alex Leek Wrekinsport CC 01:18:01
12 Richard Lilleker Cleveland Wheelers CC 01:18:21
13 Genadijs Tilgalis Peterborough CC 01:18:56
14 Daniel Gee Ashfield RC 01:28:44

1 Sarah Storey Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International BOBC 00:34:22
2 Anna Turvey Tyneside Vagabonds CC 00:34:59
3 Katie Archibald Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International BOBC 00:35:09
4 Anda-Jay Burgess Rock and Road Cycles 00:36:57
5 Lynsey Curran Dooleys RT – SCU 00:37:33
6 Vanessa Whitfield Velo Club St Raphael 00:39:37
7 Eve Dixon Team 22 00:39:43
8 Nikola Butler Velo Club St Raphael 00:39:57
9 Alison Sarmiento Harrogate Nova CC 00:41:57
10 Alison Kinloch PH-MAS Cycling 00:42:01
11 Nina Benson Ilkley CC 00:42:10
12 Claire Logan Macclesfield Wheelers 00:42:45

1 Julian Ramsbottom Pedal Pushers 00:33:41
2 Steve Berry Arctic Tacx RT 00:34:09
3 Geoff Platts MG Decor Team Carbon Bikes Solutions 00:34:24
4 James Cusick Dooleys RT – SCU 00:34:26
5 Stephen Campbell Twickenham CC 00:34:56
6 Simon Coates Cleveland Wheelers CC 00:34:58
7 Ian Dalton Cherry Valley RT (B&C Express) 00:35:07
8 Peter Greenwood Team Swift 00:35:31
9 Paul Robinson Lyme Racing Club 00:35:32
10 Jerry Cross Manchester Wheelers Club 00:35:39
11 Nick Frewin Bournemouth Jubilee Wh 00:35:49
12 Richmond Denton Ilkley CC 00:36:35
13 Paul McAllister Seamons CC 00:37:04
14 Daryl May Sheffrec CC 00:37:26
15 Ian Wilcock Nelson Whs CC 00:37:30
16 Peter Lavine Coalville Whs 00:37:53
17 Rob Brewer Cherry Valley RT (B&C Express) 00:38:09
18 Mike Westmorland Border City Whs CC 00:38:11
19 Michael Haugh Border City Whs CC 00:38:32
20 Simon Lester Team Jewson – MI Racing 00:38:50
21 Steven Boyd Border City Whs CC 00:39:07
22 David Pritchard Kennoway Road Club – SCU 00:39:35
23 David Shorrock Team Jewson – MI Racing 00:40:03
24 Jeff Bowler South Pennine RC 00:40:04
25 Steve Wilkinson Nelson Whs CC 00:40:10
26 Graham Green MG Decor Team Carbon Bikes Solutions 00:40:36
27 Jon Clarke Lincoln Whs CC 00:40:46
28 Dave Birch Welland Valley CC 00:40:57
29 Peter Haigh Nelson Whs CC 00:41:53
30 Tony Shaw Nelson Whs CC 00:42:02
31 Craig Wilson Nelson Whs CC 00:43:19
32 David Tinker Clayton Velo 00:48:58
33 James Lawley Barrow Central Wh 01:09:12

1 Rik Waddon Para T 00:36:46
2 Adrian Jones PH-MAS Cycling 00:38:36
3 Margaret Biggs Team Bader Amputees 00:43:58
4 Craig Green Peterborough CC 00:38:14
5 Martin Christmas Graham Weigh Racing – Deeside Olympic RRC 00:42:46
6 Katie Toft Mossley CRT 00:55:25

1 James Falconer Ferryhill Whs/Mountain High 00:33:21
2 Jake Coward VZW Jong Wielertalent Vlaamse Ardennen 00:35:19
3 Harry White Out of the Saddle 00:38:59
4 Josh Coward Chippenham & Dist. Whs 00:47:21



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,