Report & Result – Welwyn Track League


Despite windy conditions a good evenings racing at the Friday Night Welwyn Track League was enjoyed by just under 90 riders in the various senior and youth categories

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – Welwyn Track League (thanks Peter Waghorn)

Andrew Elderfield mking a comeback to track racing won the opening 10 lap Senior A event with an attack in the final lap and held on to the finish. The Block Pursuit was the most interesting senior race – two teams of six riders lined up at Stations 1 and 5. The team led by John McClelland opened up a good led in the first few laps but as both teams shed riders the duo of Andy Hastings and Alex Anderson increased the pace and won by around 80 metres.

There were three different winners in the SeniorB events – the top three places in the Devil being taken by promoted Youth A riders.

In the well supported youth categories – Mitch Powell was in good form scoring three victories to one by Wheelers Glen Dossett. Michael Parry rode well to pick up a number of minor places
In the Youth B section Simon Bird led the way from last weeks winner Wheelers Ethan Vernon

The CC Ashwell girls – Sophie Lewis and Harley Bell dominated two of the handicap events in the Youth CDE section. Sam Gage was the comfortable winner of the 3 laps scratch race and Rudy Knight notched up his first win in the second handicap event

The first round of the BC Youth Omnium series is at Welwyn on Saturday with a massive entry of just over 120 riders

Senior A
10 lap scratch –Andrew Elderfield (VC Revolution) John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Martin Ruepp (Iceni Velo)
10 lap points – John McClelland (BushHealthcare) Alex Anderson (Neon Velo) Andrew Hastings (Richardson Trek)
10 lap Block Pursuit – Andrew Hastings (Richardson Trek) Alex Anderson (Neon Velo)
25 lap – John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Andrew Hastings (Richardson Trek) Martin Puepp (Iceni Velo)

Senior B
10 lap scratch – Roger Woodford (Willesden) Tom Boulton (Finsbury Park) James Parrish (Lea Valley)
10 lap Points – James McKay (Fincley RT) Carl Jolly (Hillingdon) James Parrish (Lea Valley Yth)
Devil – James Parrish (Lea Valley Yth) Carl Jolly (Hillingdon) Connor Woodford (Willesden)

Youth A
8 lap scratch – Mitch Powell (Team Terminator) Adam Looker (Lea Valley) Theo Modell (east London Velo)
8 lap Block Pursuit – Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Mitch Powell (Team Terminator) Michael Parry (Welwyn)
8lap Points – Mitch Powell (Team Terminator) Michael Parry (Welwyn) Josh Roberts (Welwyn)
8 lap Handicap – Mitch Powell (Team Terminator) Michael Parry (Welwyn) Will Raymond (Welwyn)

Youth B
6 lap scratch – Simon Bird (Lea Valley) Ethan Vernon (Welwyn) Louis Bilyard (Lea valley)
Devil – Simon Bird (Lea Valley) Ethan Vernon (Welwyn) Sam Asker (West Suffolk)
6 lap Points – Simon Bird (Lea Valley) Ethan Vernon (Welwyn) Matthew Ellis (Sherwood Pines)
6 lap Handicap – Matthew Ellis (Sherwood Pines) Simon Bird (Lea Valley) Ethan Vernon (Welwyn)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scratch – Sam Gage (Welwyn) Joe Kiely (Welwyn) Harley Pell (CC Ashwell)
3 lap handicap A – Sophie Lewis (CC Ashwell) Tom Sharples (Welwyn) Harley Pell (CC Ashwell)
3 lap Handicap B – Rudy Knight (Le Valley) Louis D’Cruze (Welwyn) Ted Brett (Welwyn)
4 lap Handicap – Sophie Lewis (CC Ashwell) Harley Bell (CC Ashwell) Tom Sharples (Welwyn)



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,