Report & Results – Brook Cycles Track League


Sunny and warm conditions for the latest round of the Brook Cycles track League on Thursday, 15th May

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Brook Cycles Track League (thanks Chris)

After last week’s meeting being rained off there was sunny and warm conditions for the latest round of the Brook Cycles track League on Thursday 15th May 2014. The attendance was the best for a few seasons as 81 riders competing with some great racing across all groups.

The Sprinters League saw Sean Mayer and Barny Swinnerton, (Swinnerton Cycles) taking the opening 2-up time trial. Mayer also won the season’s first Keirin League in a super-fast final. Closely behind in second place was World masters Team Sprint Champion Phil Houlton ( Brooks Cycles) and Barny Swinnerton in third. The other sprint event saw Tom Rotherham and Jack Payne ( Sportcity Velo) joined by Sophie Capewell ( Lichfield CCC) win the Team sprint in impressive style.

The A Class races were keenly contested with Alex Braybrooke, ( Velocity RT/WD40) winning the opening 10 lap scratch by breaking away with 3 laps to go and then repeating this move in the final 10 mile scratch to take his second win of the night. Adam Hartley ( VelocityRT/WD40) making his league debut won the points race and Charlie Cox ( Lichfield CCC).

The B Class races Andrew Jackson ( Team Moda) win the devil and the course de-prime races. Richard Coates (Lyme RC) followed up his opening week’s good showing as he won the 8 lap scratch and Dave Smith ( Stafford RC) won the final 10 mile Scratch.

The youth races saw a group of 13 riders taking part which is great sign for the future of the league. After progressing through the Freewheelers League Alastair Kennington ( Lyme RC) showed he is one for the future as he won the 200m time trial and the points race.

Other wins came from Mark Zanker (Leicestershire RC) in the block handicap and James Duncalf in the scratch race. It was also nice to see four riders from Leicestershire RC competing for the first time.
The second event in the Freewheelers Series saw 29 riders take part with a number of new faces from the first week. The standard across all three groups with high with the 200m time trial times seeing a large crop of personal bests. The top points scorers in each group were as follows;
Group 1 Harry Horn Lyme RC 5 Points
Group 2 Jack Scott Lyme RC 6 Points
Group 3 Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC 8 Points
Owen Shepherd Lyme RC 8 Points

Freewheelers Results
Group 1
Race 1
1st Farley Barber Lyme RC
2nd Brooklen Houlton Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Harry Horn Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
2nd Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
3rd Bradley Heath Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Joe Boulton
2nd Natasha Sandbach Lyme RC
3rd Harry Brayford Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Harry Horn
2nd Bradley Heath
3rd Brooklen Houlton

Group 2

Race 1
1st Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC
2nd Jack Scott Lyme RC
3rd Alfie Hall Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Lucy Scott Lyme RC
2nd George Graham
3rd Amy Graham

Race 3
1st Jack Scott
2nd Amy Graham
3rd Evie Davis Lyme RC
Lily Taylor Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Zak Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Ruby Jennings Lyme RC
3rd Lucy Scott
Group 3

Race 1
1st Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
2nd Owen Shepherd Lyme RC
3rd Holly Edwards Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Owen Shepherd
2nd Cameron O’Neil
3rd Holly Edwards Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Owen Shepherd
2nd Cameron O’Neil
3rd Holly Edwards


Youth 200m TT
1st Alastair Kennington Lyme RC
2nd Caleb Hill Lyme RC
3rd Liam Davis Leicestershire RC

A Class Endurance 10 lap Scratch
1st Alex Braybrooke Velocity RT/WD40
2nd Charlie Cox Lichfield CCC
3rd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC

A Class Sprinters 2 Up TT
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
Barny Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo
Jack Payne Sportcity Velo
3rd Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Richard Coates Lyme RC
2nd Robert Standring V Sprint
3rd Phil Braybrooke Manchester Wheelers

Youth Block Handicap
1st Mark Zanker Leicestershire RC
2nd Aleshia Mellor Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Alex Haines Leicestershire RC

A Class Endurance 12 lap points Race
1st Adam Hartley Velocity RT/WD40
2nd Alex Braybrooke
3rd Charlie Cox

A Class Sprinters Team Sprint
1st Jack Payne
Tom Rotherham
Sophie Capewell Lichfield CCC

2nd Barny Swinnerton
Paul Sydenham Halesowen ACC
Steve Cronshaw

3rd Dave Smith Stafford RC
James Roberts North Cheshire Clarion
Sean Mayer

B Class Endurance Devil
1st Andrew Jackson Team Moda
2nd Ian Taylor U/A
3rd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC

Youth Points Race
1st Alastair Kennington
2nd Liam Davis
3rd Caleb Hill

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Charlie Cox
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd Alex Braybrooke

B Class Course De Primes
1st Andrew Jackson
2nd Robert Standring
3rd Phil Booth Weaver Valley CC

Keirin League Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Phil Houlton
3rd Barny Swinnerton
4th Tom Rotherham
5th Steve Cronshaw
6th Jack Payne

Youth 6 lap Scratch
1st James Duncalf Lyme RC
2nd Alastair Kennington
3rd Liam Davis

A Class 10 mile Scratch
1st Alex Braybrooke
2nd Jack Payne
3rd Jacob Booth Weaver Valley CC

B Class 10 Mile Scratch
1st Dave Smith
2nd Ian Taylor
3rd Andrew Jackson


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,