Giro – Cadel Evans Leads Giro d’Italia


Cadel Evans (BMC) took the lead of the Giro d’Italia on Saturday with a fifth-place finish on the first mountain-top finish of the three-week race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Giro – Cadel Evans Leads Giro d’Italia

Evans received solid support from teammates throughout the 179-kilometer race, first in the chase of a 10-rider breakaway and later on the final two climbs, as all the escapees were eventually brought back. Diego Ulissa (Lampre-Merida) won the stage ahead of Robert Kiserlovski (Trek Factory Racing).


Picture –

Evans crossed the line eight seconds later and donned the maglia rosa after previous race leader Michael Matthews (ORICA-GreenEDGE) was left behind on the lower slopes of the third-to-last climb of the day. “We are in a good position at the moment,” Evans said. “Today, we saw a hard stage with all the contenders right there. I think when we get to the mountains, we will see a different kind of race.”

With 13 stages to go, Evans holds a 57-second lead over Rigoberto Uran (Omega Pharma-Quick Step). Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo) is third, at 1:10, while BMC Racing Team’s Steve Morabito is fourth, at 1:31. “Steve was really the man of the day for us,” Evans said. “The team was going all day and he was there all the way to the finish.”

Morabito – part of the BMC Racing Team’s Tour de France team when Evans won the race in 2011 – drove the pace for the past world road champion in the final kilometers. “In the final, I think Cadel asked Morabito to try to close the gap and try for the win,” BMC Racing Team Sport Director Fabio Baldato said. “But our first objective was to keep Cadel safe and not to be the only team working at the front to control the race.”


Picture -

Evans now leads a grand tour for the sixth time in his career and for the first time since winning the 2011 Tour de France. He previously wore the maglia rosa once – for one day in 2010 after Stage 2 – on the way to a fifth-place finish overall and the points classification title.

This also marks the third time the BMC Racing Team has had a rider lead a grand tour, all accomplished by Evans. In 2010, he donned the maillot jaune at the Tour de France after Stage 8 but could not hold onto it after fracturing his left elbow in a crash. Baldato said there is no increased pressure on the BMC Racing Team to defend the lead over the next two weeks. “For sure, we will do our race,” he said. “We now know who will be the contenders, who will be the strong riders.”


Picture -

Second overall for Uran “It was a hard stage,” Rigoberto Uran said. “The first climb was really tough but I felt good today. Also it again helped to have a great team with me. In the flat part they were there, but also on the climb with Brambilla and Poels. Tomorrow it will be another uphill finish, but on paper easier than today. Still, in this Giro you have to be careful each stage. You can’t take a day and say ‘today will be a normal day.’ If you want to be in the front for the GC you cannot underestimate any stage.”

Nairo Quintana: “It was a serious race, one with big climbs, much nervousness and vigilance between the main favourites. Despite finishing in fourth place, the legs did not go well today – I don’t really know why. We pushed in the beginning because I wanted to give it a try, but I think the crash I had two days ago affected me today. That’s why I was only thinking about sticking to the main group in the final ramp, not losing time to anybody; I made a big effort so none of the favourites could drop me, and it went well. I hope it was just a bad day and the body to recover better tomorrow.”


Picture -

1. Ulissi Diego, Lampre-Merida 4:47:47
2. Kiserlovski Robert, Trek Factory Racing @0:03
3. Kelderman Wilco, Belkin-Pro Cycling Team @0:06
4. Quintana Nairo, Movistar Team
5. Evans Cadel, BMC Racing Team @08
6. Uran Rigoberto, Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
7. Pozzovivo Domenico, AG2R La Mondiale
8. Majka Rafal, Tinkoff-Saxo @14
9. Aru Fabio, Astana Pro Team @17
10. Hesjedal Ryder, Garmin Sharp @20

1. Evans Cadel, BMC Racing Team 34:22:35
2. Uran Rigoberto, Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 0:57
3. Majka Rafal, Tinkoff-Saxo 1:10
4. Morabito Steve, BMC Racing Team 1:31
5. Aru Fabio, Astana Pro Team 1:39
6. Ulissi Diego, Lampre-Merida 1:43
7. Kelderman Wilco, Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 1:44
8. Quintana Nairo, Movistar Team 1:45
9. Kiserlovski Robert, Trek Factory Racing 1:49
10. Pozzovivo Domenico, AG2R La Mondiale 1:50


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,