Report & Result – Yorkshire Regional RR Champs


Dean Downing (NFTO) wins the Yorkshire Regional Road Race Championship at Towton whilst Rob Watkinson wins the Masters race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – Yorkshire Regional RR Champs
(thanks Paul)

Masters – Set around the historic battlefield of Towton, where Yorkshire defeated Lancashire in the War of the Roses, both the Masters and Elite Races delivered aggressive racing from the gun. The Masters event saw a break of 8 establish a 1 minute lead within the first two laps. This set the pattern for the rest of the race as the breakaway worked smoothly and the bunch failed to establish an effective chase. The winner would come from the break, and it was Rob Watkinson who took Gold in a fine solo effort that gained 10 seconds by the finishing line. Richard Moore took Silver in a hard fought sprint with Glen Turnball who claimed bronze.

Elites – The elite race followed a similar pattern, with two select groups forming during the early stages. As the race wore on, and the strong winds began to build, the two groups became one, and a flurry of attacking began. At the bell, it was Alastair Kay who led by 10 seconds, followed by a group of six containing pre race favourites Dean Downing and Tom Stewart. As the race entered the finishing straight, the break was back together, and it was Dean Downing who pipped Adam Duggleby to take the win in a fiercely contested sprint. Tom Stewart led in the remnants of the break to claim Bronze.

1 Dean Downing NFTO
2 Adam Duggleby Wheelbase Altura MGD
3 Thomas Stewart Madison Genesis
4 David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels Race Team
5 Jake Tanner Christina Watches – Kuma
6 John Tanner
7 Alastair Kay York Cycleworks Race Team
8 Tom Barras Wheelbase Altura MGD
9 Ashley Brown HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
10 Matthew Robinson All Terrain Cycles
11 Duncan Moralee Strategic Lions RT
12 Joseph Moses Wheelbase Altura MGD
13 Danny Lowthorpe Langsett Cycles RT
14 Jamie Burgan Langsett Cycles RT
15 James Sampson HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
16 Jon Wilkinson Knottingley Velo
17 Ben Hallworth Ilkley Cycling Club
18 James Allen Langsett Cycles RT
19 Connor Swift Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo
20 Timothy Mansfield Huddersfield Star Whlrs

1. Rob Watkinson
2. Richard Moore
3. Glen Turnbull
4. Richard Binks
5. Phil Turton
6. Andrew Sedgwick
7. Steve Gibson
8. Blair Buss
9. lee Brown
10. Tristina Emptage


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,