Report & Results – Track Open Newcastle


Report & results from the British Tandem Championships & Youth Omnium at Lyme Valley Stadium, Newcastle Under Lyme on May 17

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Track Open Newcastle
Report and images: Paul Barber

U16 2014

Over 85 riders enjoyed a full day of great, incident free racing at the sponsored, British Cycling National Tandem Sprint Championship & Youth Midland Region Omnium Round 2014.

A packed programme of 50 events and heats contained a mixture of youth and experience with 20 riders in the exciting tandem sprint, along with stars of the future in the youth races. The day contained two main events – the National Tandem Sprint Championship with many current Para Olympic gold medallists and a round of the British Cycling Midland Youth Omnium series. This has seven gender and age categories of youth riders ,competing over 5 sprint and endurance events, to find the best riders on the day.

British Tandem Sprint Championship, sponsored by Swinnerton Cycles

Tandem podium 2014

New tandem pairing of Para World Championship gold medalist Peter Mitchell (Performance Cycle Coaching) and Paralympic Gold medalist Anthony Kappes MBE (Yasumitsu Schlapp) won the 2014 British Cycling National Tandem Sprint. The pairing qualified the fastest, won through the rounds and semi finals, to beat silver medallists, and new local pairing veteran World Masters Champion Phil Houlton (Brooks Cycles ) and Junior rider Tom Rotherham (Sportcity Velo) 2-0 in the best of three rides.

Leuan Williams CC Cardiff and Matthew Ellis Newport Youth Velo CC beat Peter Boyd and David Heald (VC St Raphael)2-0 to win the minor final for bronze and forth. It was also great to see 10 tandems competing this year, with great support from the Great Britain Para-cycling Team and four female tandem pairings competing. Best of the ladies was Jenny Davis (City of Edinburgh Racing Club) and Fiona Duncan (Bonito Squadra Corse).

tandem semi

The crowds were treated to a master class of close, fast and exciting tandem riding from all the riders. (Especially from Peter Boyd!)

Newcastle under Lyme Midland Region Omnium, sponsored by SwinnertonCycles
Under 16 Boys – A field of 17 under 16 boys battled over the five Omnium events, with some fast and furious racing from the moment the racing started. Jake Stewart (Solihull CC) was the top rider on the day, taking a well deserved win from Charlie Cox (Lichfield City CC). All the riders are to be commended for an excellent display of riding which was clearly ahead of their years, displaying plenty of promise for their future within the sport.

Sophie Capewell U16 winner

Under 16 Girls – Sophie Capewell (Lichfield City CC) gave a dominant display of Omnium riding in the under 16 girls event , winning the scratch, elimination, Keirin and 800m time trial. The event was a mix of sprint versus endurance, with Capewell coming out on top over Charlotte Broughton (MG Decor)

Under 14 Boys – Lewis Askey ~(Lichfield City CC) showed he had put in some hard training over winter. He gave won a close fought battle being consistent in the scratch, points, elimination, and time trial to win the under 14 boys category. William Manfield-Yorke (Wolverhampton Whls) rode consistently to take second place from Matthew Shaw (Solihull CC)

Under 12’s – It’s always great to see a field of under 12 riders racing and this was no exception. These stars of the future battled away spinning little gears and all had big smiles on their faces. Ryan Brookes (Halesowen A & CC) came out on top with four wins in five races . Whilst Connor Smith (Lichfield City CC) rode consistently, moving up the rankings to take a fine second place overall from Josh Field Halesowen A & CC in third.

Under 10’s – There were five under 10 year old riders, with some close fought racing, Ben Askey (Lichfield City CC) came out on top on the day winning all five events as he did last year. Alex Barker (Halesowen A & CC) piped Luke Harris Halesowen A & CC to third place in a close fought battle.

We would like to thank our sponsor , British Cycling, all the helpers, officials, parents and riders for supporting the event and helping make a great day of racing.

Racing is held at Newcastle under Lyme Track every Thursday from 6.00pm for freewheelers and 7.15pm for the main track league, with training sessions every Monday, Tuesday and Friday evening for Freewheelers. See for more information and full results.
Paul Barber, Organiser, NTCA

1. Peter Mitchell Performance Cycle Coaching
Anthony Kappes MBE Yasumitsu Schlapp

2. Philip Houlton Brooks Cycles
Thomas Rotherham Sportcity Velo

3. Ieuan Williams CC Cardiff
Matthew Ellis Newport Youth Velo CC

4. Peter Boyd VC St Raphael
David Heald VC St Raphael

5. Neil Fachie Performance Cycle Coaching
Rachel James Abergavenny Road Club

6. Benedict Elliott VC St Raphael
John Saysell North Road CC

7. Jenny Davis City of Edinburgh Racing Club
Fiona Duncan Bonito Squadra Corse

8. Helen Scott Performance Cycle Coaching
Sophie Thornhill Performance Cycle Coaching

9. Aileen McGlynn OBE Bonito Squadra Corse
Louise Haston City of Edinburgh RC

10. Lauryn Therin Bonito Squadra Corse
Rhiannon Henry Para-T



1. Ben Askey Lichfield City CC
2. Alex Barker Halesowen A & CC
3. Luke Harris Halesowen A & CC
4. William Ryan Solihull CC
5. Georgie Duggins Lichfield City CC


1. Ryan Brookes Halesowen A & CC
2. Connor Smith Lichfield City CC
3. Josh Field Halesowen A & CC
4. Daniel Barnes Lichfield City CC
5. Nathan Burns Halesowen A & CC
6. Samuel Hall Lyme RC
7. Liam Allen Halesowen A & CC
8. Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC
9. Arlo Rogers Solihull CC
10. Jordan Hall-Wallace Solihull CC
11. Joel Ackers Eastlands Velo

1. Hollie Owens Wolverhampton Whls
2. Lucy Nelson Solihull CC
3. Ellie Russell Sportcity Velo
4. Gabriella Homer Wolverhampton Whls
5. Lorna Sharples
6. Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001/Vekta Velosport
7. Esme Niblett Mid Shropshire Wheelers
8. Isabelle Cumming Wolverhampton Whls


1. Lewis Askey Lichfield City CC
2. William Manfield-Yorke Wolverhampton Whls
3. Matthew Shaw Solihull CC
4. Toby Barnes Lichfield City CC
5. Matthew Lewis Wolverhampton Whls
6. Daniel Cooper Lichfield City CC
7. James Duncalf Lyme RC
8. Joseph Guy Wolverhampton Whls
9. James Alexander Solihull CC
10. Alexander Coates Lyme RC
11. Caleb Hill Lyme RC
12. Jamieson Blain Halesowen A & CC
13. Sebastian Bacon Wolverhampton Wheelers
14. George Hancock Lyme RC
15. William Duggins Lichfield City CC
16. Bradley Hill Lyme RC
17. Louis Perry Lyme RC
18. Alex Haines Leicestershire Road Club

1. Sophie Capewell Lichfield City CC
2. Charlotte Broughton MG Decor
3. Georgia Hilleard Wolverhampton Whls
4. Connie Hudson Wolverhampton Whls
5. Georgia Swainson Newport Olympic CC
6. Hetty Niblett Mid Shropshire Wheelers
7. Alice Law Wolverhampton Whls
8. Alice Lodge Solihull CC
9. Katie Clements Solihull CC
10. Claire Neil Stratford CC

1. Jake Stewart Solihull CC
2. Charlie Cox Lichfield City CC
3. William Lewis Wolverhampton Whls
4. Benjamin Hardwick Wolverhampton Whls
5. Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
6. James Helsby Sportcity Velo
7. Oliver Dighton Halesowen A & CC
8. Bradley Simkin Halesowen A & CC
9. Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
10. Ewan Grivell-Mellor Mid Shropshire Whls
11. Matthew Radford Wolverhampton Whls
12. Matthew Sisley Lichfield City CC
13. Ethan Davies Wolverhampton Whls
14. Luke Hardman Bicicielo
15. Josef Feiven Solihull CC
16. Alex Yates Solihull CC
17. Alastair Kennington Lyme RC




















Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,