Report & Result – York Cycleworks Elite RR


Giles Drake wins the York Cycleworks Elite Road Race on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – York Cycleworks Elite RR
Thanks Richard …

After heavy rain all night, a rain soaked and puddle strewn course awaited a depleted field of riders for the start of the York Cycleworks Elite Road Race. In all, 32 riders took the start on a cold and wet morning. After a neutralised climb up to the course, the riders poured through the start to begin ten very tough laps of the Brandsby course.

The first few laps were quiet with just a couple of riders having opportunistic digs off the front. Nothing really gaining more than 20 seconds. It wasn’t until lap four when a bullish Simon Wilson(Wheelbase) attacked strongly and quickly gapped the field followed shortly by local star Alistair Kay(York Cycleworks) and Giles Drake(leisurelakes). This trio quickly built an insurmountable lead – which at one point hit 90 seconds.

The three worked hard together until the plug was pulled on Simon Wilson’s energy reserves two laps from home and he quickly found himself lapped on the final lap. As the riders took the bell the remaining two leaders attacked each other with Giles Drake gaining up to 20 seconds on Ali Kay and taking the win. The Peloton finally saw the danger and attacked each other from the peloton injecting a great deal of speed. Sadly all too late and racing only for third. I think all the riders were glad to see the chequered flag and finally get back to the warmth of the village hall.

1 Giles Drake – leisurelakes
2 Alistair Kay – York Cycleworks
3 Matt Holmes – Madison Genesis
4 Michael Ashurst – Achieve Skinngergate
5 David Shackleton – Wilson Wheels
6 Nathan Wilson – Claycross RT
7 Conor Swift – BikeBox Alan
8 Sam Boast – Wheelbase
9 Duncan Moralee – Strategic lions
10 Hamish Graham – Green Jersey
11 Mark Perry – All Terrain Cycles
12 Oscar Williamson – Marsh Track RT
13 Joseph Moses – Wheelbase
14 Alex Bottomley – Wheelbase
15 Simon Wilson –Wheelbase
16 Paul Mace – RAF cc
17 Joseph Davison – PH Mas
18 Zak Williamson – Claycross


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,