News – Hillingdon Women’s GP


Nicola Juniper, leader of the Women’s Road Race Series, wears No 1 in the sixth edition of the Hillingdon Women’s GP on Sunday, 1st June

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Hillingdon Women’s GP
(from Stuart Benstead, organiser)

Nicola Juniper, the leader in the BC National Women’s Road Race Series, wears No 1 in the sixth edition of the Hillingdon Women’s GP on Sunday, 1st June, on the Hillingdon cycle circuit.

Alex Peters wins stage 7 Reservoir

She leads the series in this third qualifying event with 54 points, with Molly Weaver (Epic Cycles – Scott WRT) equal second with 40 points with Lowri Devey (Abergavenny RC), with only Weaver challenging next Sunday. Juniper took the lead by winning the first event, the Alexandra Tour of the Reservoir and coming fourth in the Cheshire Classic.

Although on this closed circuit previous editions have often ended with a sprint finish, with world junior champion Lucy Garner coming first in both 2011 and 2012, there is a difference this year with a lengthening to 80km from the previous 50km and an appropriate upgrading of the prize list. Being very open and often windswept, the extra distance may well make a big difference as been proven in longer men’s races.

Juniper, having left the Pearl Izumi team since the Cheshire race, will be without team support, but being a Londoner she knows the circuit well and was 5th in 2012 and 12th in 2013. Even better aquainted with the circuit, however, is young Abby Dentus (De Ver Cycles) who is a regular winner in the regular Wednesday evening women-only races, so she will be looking with relish to add it to her cv and aim for the very top, as it has for not only Lucy Garner but most British Olympic Gold Medal endurance riders who have all ridden the event.

The race programme for the day is:
10.00: 30 minute race for the Youth A & Youth B.
10.40: 3/4th cat race 1 hour.
11.50: Hillingdon Men’s GP 80km/50 miles, 47 laps.
14.10: Hillingdon Women’s GP 80km/50 miles, 47 laps

Hillingdon Women’s GP
1st June 2014 – 80km/50 miles – 47 laps of Hillingdon cycle circuit
1 Nicola Juniper PM 1st
2 Wiebke Rietz 1st Chard Whls 1st
3 Lucy Harper Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech 2nd
4 Anna Marie Hughes Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech 2nd
5 Francesca Morgans-Slader Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech 2nd
6 Elanor Cadzow Bonito Squadra Corse 2nd
7 Annabel Fisher Bonito Squadra Corse 2nd
8 Mathilde Mathijjse Bonito Squadra Corse
9 Sarah Short Bonito Squadra Corse 3rd
10 Jane Barr Velocity 44 Stirling 2nd
11 Alex Greenfield Epic Cycles – Scott WRT 3rd
12 Bethany Hayward Epic Cycles – Scott WRT 1st
13 Ella Hopkins Epic Cycles – Scott WRT 2nd
14 Molly Weaver Epic Cycles – Scott WRT 1st
15 Elena Bremer Exeter Wheelers 2nd
16 Heidi Viles Exeter Wheelers 2nd
17 Emily Barnes Mulebar Girl 2nd
18 Kelly Moore Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 2nd
19 Bethany Taylor Fusion Development Racing Team 2nd
20 Sophie Faulkner Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science 2nd
21 Gillian Taylor Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science 2nd
22 Brit Tate GB 1st
23 Juliet Milward High Wycombe Cycling Club 2nd
24 Rose Osborne High Wycombe Cycling Club 2nd
25 Abbey Norman Lichfield City CC 3rd
26 Jennifer Crouch London Dynamo 2nd
27 Patricia Keegan London Dynamo 3rd
28 Claire Richardson London Dynamo 3rd
29 Louise Moriarty Look Mum No Hands! 3rd
30 Elise Sherwell Look Mum No Hands! 3rd
31 Lowri Thomas M&D Cycles/Scimitar Sports/Fusion RT A
32 Louise Borthwick Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 1st
33 Melissa Lowther Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd
34 Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 1st
35 Jo Tindley Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd
36 Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd
37 Lydia Gurley Merlin Cycles 2nd
38 Alexandra Sheehan Merlin Cycles 2nd
39 Natasha Morrison MG Decor 3rd
40 Rosemary Homer Newport Shropshire CC 3rd
41 Chloe Weller Norwood Paragon CC 3rd
42 Charline Joiner Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International Elite
43 Gabriella Shaw Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International 1st
44 Gemma Stuart Performance Cycles 3rd
45 Laura Cheesman RP Racing Team 2nd
46 Grace Garner RST Racing Team 2nd
47 Amy Gornall RST Racing Team 2nd
48 Annasley Park RST Racing Team 2nd
49 Lucy Shaw Solihull CC 2nd
50 Dani Christmas Speg – Project 51 2nd
51 Flora Gillies Speg – Project 51 2nd
52 Katie Curtis Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
53 Lyndsey Glazier Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
54 Tanya Griffiths Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
55 Abigail Dentus Team De Ver 2nd
56 Natalie Creswick Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 1st
57 Louise Mahe Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 2nd
58 Emily Kay Epic Contessa
59 Sam Burman Team WNT 3rd
60 Victoria Williams Team WNT 2nd
61 Laura Greenhalgh Twickenham CC 2nd
62 Emma Towers Twickenham CC 2nd
63 Eleanor Jones VC St Raphael 1st
64 Adele Martin VC St Raphael 2nd
65 Nicola Meadows VC St Raphael 3rd
66 Lydia Boylan Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa Elite
67 Jasmine Dotti Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa 2nd
68 Abigail Van Twisk WXC World Racing 4th
69 Rebecca Carter WyndyMilla 2nd
70 Tamiko Butler WyndyMilla – Reynolds 4th
71 Mary Costelloe WyndyMilla – Reynolds
72 Keira McVitty WyndyMilla – Reynolds 1st
73 Hannah Payton WyndyMilla – Reynolds 2nd
74 Rebecca Womersley WyndyMilla – Reynolds 2nd
75 Lindsey Ackland Zappis Racing Team 3rd
76 Lucy Chittenden PM 1st
77 Jessica Stoddart PM 3rd
78 Jennifer Edwards Team 22 2nd
79 Lydia Barnes GS Henley 3rd

Past results:
1st Emily Kay, Scott Contessa/Epic
2nd Clemence Copie, High Wycombe CC
3rd Charlene Joiner, MG Maxifuel
Nicola Juniper, current series leader, was 12th in sprint finish.

1st Lucy Garner, Node4/Giordana
2nd Elinor Barker Scott Contessa Epic
3rd Louise Mahe Mulebar Girl
5th Nicola Juniper Eagle RC

2011 Lucy Garner, Node4/Giordana & Hannah Rice, Horizon Fitness/Prendas, dead heat

1st Danielle King, Horizon Fitness
2nd Becky James, Motorpoint
4th Hannah Barnes, Motorpoint

2009 Janet Birkmyre, XRT/Elmy Cycles



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,