News – Matt Bottrill Course Record


Matt Bottrill breaks the course record for the Melton Olympic 10 mile time trial on May 31st

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Matt Bottrill Course Record

Saturday afternoon saw the rain shower’s that had hit the UK hard this week finally give way to sunshine and warm temperature’s. Conditions were ideal for riding a bike and setting new records and it was no different in the Melton Oympic CC’s annual 10 mile time based on the Six Hills course in Leicestershire.

Riders would battle it out over the triangular circuit starting near Thurssington with seven corners to negotiate and an undulating circuit. Its a really test of pace and judgement says Bottrill.


Sixty five riders would take part and the first rider to break the 21 minute barrier was Lutterworth Cycle Center’s Simon Mitchell with a 20:58. Evergreen super vet, Geoff Platts (Mg-Decor) was not far behind this with 21:10 but both these times were broken by Adam Gascoinge of Team Pedal Power with a 20:36.

Last rider to start, and with the build up to the National 50 mile championships just one week away, was Matthew Bottrill of On local roads for the Leicestershire rider, the race was a test to check out the form. With the course record of 19:26 set by Richard Handley (Rapha Condor pro cycling), Bottrill knew he would have to bring his A game to take the record.

Getting his ride under way at 3.05pm, Bottrill, was soon hitting speeds in excess of 30 mph and flying through the riders who had started ahead of him. At halfway, the numbers from the powermeter were looking great and knowing he was on for a ride, Bottrill went full gas to stop the clock in an incredible 19:08!

Win number 9 of the season.

Before Bottrill set off for his ride home, he said “I’m made up with today, I’ve been chasing this record for a number of years so to finally break it is a great feeling. I know my form is building towards my key targets for the season. I felt good today, and I’m now ready for the defense of the National 50 mile championships next week.”

1. Matt Bottrill 19:08
2. Adam Gascoigne Pedal Power Loughborough 20:36
3. Simon Mitchell Lutterworth Cycle Centre Racing Team 20:58
4. Geoff Platts MG D̩cor РTeam Carbon Bikes 21:10
5. Mark Exon Coalville Wheelers CC 21:13
6. James Garratt Welland Valley CC 21:14
7. Patrick Gould Matlock CC 21:19
8. Carl Dyson Achieve-Skinnergate Racing 21:26
9. Greig Burt Velo Club Long Eaton 21:42
10. Nicholas Cousins Derby Mercury RC 21:43
11. Jason Swann Mapperley CC 21:56
12. Steve King Melton Olympic CC 21:57
13. Stephen Robinson North Notts Olympic RC 22:03
14. Stuart Faver Melton Olympic CC 22:03
15. Jack Hugill Mercia – Lloyds Cycles CC 22:03
16. Gary Symons Witham Wheelers 22:16
17. Stephen Howgill Leicestershire RC 22:22
18. Courtney Blockley-Campton Leicester Forest CC 22:24
19. Andrew Bucknall Leicester Forest CC 22:27
20. Paul Kerr Melton Olympic CC 22:28
21. Geoff Parkin Hinckley CRC 22:46
22. Stephen Radmall Hinckley CRC 22:48
23. Paul Mapletoft Kiveton Park CC 22:52
24. Peter Lavine Coalville Wheelers CC 22:53
25. Richard Garratt Welland Valley CC 22:55
26. Jamie Haines Melton Olympic CC 23:06
27. Peter Tuckwood Mapperley CC 23:07
28. James Westwood Witham Wheelers 23:11
29. Jon Beere Witham Wheelers 23:17
30. Marc Fairclough Leicester Forest CC 23:29
31. Wayne Hughes Hinckley CRC 23:36
32. Carl Roberts Lutterworth Cycle Centre Racing Team 23:43
33. Adam Huelss Velo Club Long Eaton 23:51
34. Nigel Finch Mercia – Lloyds Cycles CC 23:52
35. Ryan Ballard Coalville Wheelers CC 24:21
36. Gary Ison Melton Olympic CC 24:40
37. Anthony Hardenberg Witham Wheelers 24:53
38. Robert Prue Ashfield RC 24:54
39. Paul Fairey Witham Wheelers 25:09
40. Brian Peto VC Long Eaton 25:19
41. David Herd Witham Wheelers 25:41
42. Rob Steele Leicester Forest CC 25:52
43. Mike Davis Beeston RC 26:14
44. David York Ratae RC 26:24
45. Rod Weston Sleaford Wheelers CC 26:24
46. James Green Leicester Forest CC 27:08
47. Ron Hallam South Pennine RC 27:11
48. Colin Howson Coalville Wheelers CC 27:23
49. Deb Shaw Melton Olympic CC 27:38
50. Rieta Simmonds Ratae RC 29:06
51. Tom Bailey Kettering CC 29:19
52. Annette Roberts Ratae RC 29:31
53. Ken Clarke Melton Olympic CC 31:29




Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,