Result – Bob Whitear Memorial Road Race


Kieran Brady wins the National B Bob Whitear Memorial Road Race at Wicklewood (Norfolk)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Bob Whitear Memorial Road Race 

Bob Whitear Memorial Road Race, Wicklewood, Norfolk
From Fergus Muir

Whitear 2

Kieran Brady (City Cycle Centre) won the 78 mile National B category Bob Whitear Memorial Road Race near Wymondham in Norfolk. He proved the best of four riders who slipped off the front of a leading break with half-a-dozen miles remaining.

The race, in memory of the man who was the driving force behind the Rennrad Club Norwich, set off in near perfect conditions and the first significant attack came from Alastair Kay of York Cycleworks and Dan Young (Neon Velo)

Thereafter several attacks formed and faded until a group of seven held sway. With about six miles to go, local rider Tom Fitzpatrick (Terra Shoes) launched an attack. At almost the same moment a chasing group completed a bridging move from behind and from this Alastair Kay went straight though to join Fitzpatrick. These two were soon joined by first Kieran Brady and then George Wood (Richardsons/Trek), making a foursome who were still together as they passed under Crownthorpe railway bridge and through crowds of spectators – watching for an LMS 8F steam locomotive to cross the bridge.

Whitear 1

Just short of the crest of the final hill Brady blasted off and held his lead on the slight down-slope to the finish. Fitzpatrick took second by a whisker from Wood, followed by Kay, Jonny Shuster (Corley), Jamie Caldwell (Starley) and Simon Alexander (Richardsons/Trek).

Back at Wicklewood Village Hall, Brady, who is 19 and from Soham and works part time for his sponsors, City Cycle Centre at Ely, received his winnings from John Patston, principal supporter of race organisers Strada Sport.

1. Kieran Brady, City Cycle Centre
2. Tom Fitzpatrick, Terra Safety Shoes at same time
3. George Wood, Richardsons-Trek at same time
4. Alistair Kay, York Cycleworks at 10sec
5. Jonathan Shuster, Team Corley Cycles at same time
6. Jamie Caldwell, Starley Primal at same time
7. Simon Alexander, Richardsons-Trek at same time
8. Malcolm Smith, St Ives CC at 15sec
9. Ian Knights, Team Corley Cycles at same time
10. Jack Steven, East London Velo at 45sec

Next finishers :
11 Andy Lyons (Richardsons/Trek)
12 Phil Hetzel (Ipswich BC)
13 Lloyd Chapman (Richardsons/Trek)
14 Mark Yale (VC Revolution)



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,