Report – Brook Cycles Track, League


Biggest attendance this year at the Brook Cycles Track League on the 12th June

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Brook Cycles Track, League

The hot sunny weather saw the biggest attendance this year at the Brook Cycles Track League on the 12th June.

Over 60 riders rode the main league and along with the Freewheelers league the total was nearly 90 riders competed in a full race programme. The highlight of the night was the Neil Potter Sponsored 500m Handicap League where there was a mass dash for the line with all the riders crossing the line in a tight pack.

Handicapper Tony Mayer is clearly doing a fine job however the judges eyes are getting severely tested each week to place the top six. This weeks winner was long marker Rhian Putt ( Swinerton Cycles) who took her first win at the league in fine style.

Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles ) won the Sprint final in a time of 11.6 seconds from Tom Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo). The other sprint event saw Debbie Capewell ( Brooks Cycles) Max Gethin ( Lyme RC) and Sean Mayer take the team sprint.

The A Class endurance was very competitive this week with 15 riders competing. Jacob Booth ( Weaver Valley CC) re took the overall lead as he won the 10 lap scratch and the points. Alex Simmons ( Swinnerton Cycles) won the devil and Tom Rotherham won the 10 mile scratch.

The B Class events saw Phil Kirkpatrick ( Mercian CC) win the 8 lap scratch, points and the 10 mile. Tom Haines ( Leicestershire RC) making his debut at the league won the devil.

The Youth events saw a good spread of winners with George Hancock ( Lyme RC ) winning the block handicap, Alistair Kennington ( Lyme RC ) taking the devil, James Nolan ( Eastlands Velo ) the 600m handicap and Caleb Hill the 6 lap scratch.

The Freewheelers League saw a good turnout of riders with some very close racing. The top point’s scorers in each group were

Group 1 Bradley Heath Lyme RC 8 Points
Group 2 Zak Edwards Lyme RC 9 points
Group 3 Owen Shepherd Lyme RC 7 points

Freewheelers Results

Group 1
Race 1
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Brooklen Houlton Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Bradley Heath Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Bradley Heath
2nd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
3rd Brooklen Houlton

Race 3
1st Harry Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Bradley Heath
3rd Natasha Sandbach ` Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Ambrose Morris
2nd Harry Brayford
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Race 5
1st Brooklen Houlton
2nd Aaron Mansell
3rd Bradley Heath

Group 2

Race 1
1st Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC
2nd Lucy Scott Lyme RC
3rd Zak Edwards Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
Amelia Perry Lyme RC
3rd Zak Edwards

Race 3
1st Zak Edwards
2nd Lucy Scott
3rd Izaak Curtis Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
2nd Amelia Perry
3rd Evie Davis

Race 5
1st Zak Edwards
2nd Lucy Scott
3rd Chloe Shepherd

Group 3

Race 1
1st Sam Waller
2nd Owen Shepherd Lyme RC
3rd Holly Edwards Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Owen Shepherd
2nd Holly Edwards
3rd Emma O’Neil

Race 3
1st Emma O’Neil
2nd Gracie Walters Lyme RC
3rd Olly Davis Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Gracie Walters
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Owen Shepherd


Neil Potter 500m Handicap League
1st Rhian Putt Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Max Gethin Lyme RC
3rd Andrew Jackson Moda RT
4th Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
5th Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
6th Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

Youth Block Handicap
1st George Hancock Lyme RC
2nd Liam Davies Leicestershire RC
3rd Farley Barber Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 Lap scratch
1st Jacob Booth Weaver Valley CC
2nd James Notley Mammoth Lifestyle RT
3rd Charlie Cox Lichfield CCC

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Phil Kirkpatrick Mercian CC
2nd Alex Taylor Cadence Sports
3rd James Brayford Lyme RC

Youth Devil
1st Alistair Kennington Lyme RC
2nd Liam Davies Leicestershire RC
3rd Alex Coates Lyme RC

A Class 12 lap Points
1st Jacob Booth
2nd Alex Simmons Swinnerton Cycles
3rd James Risk Weaver Valley CC

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Debbie Capewell Brooks Cycles
Max Gethin
Sean Mayer

2nd Sophie Capewell Lichfield CCC
Thomas Rotherham Sportcity Velo
Seb Horner

3rd Emily Capewell Lichfield CCC
Dave Smith Stafford RC
Jack Payne Sportcity Velo

B Class Devil
1st Tom Haines Leicestershire RC
2nd Chris Pyatt NTCA
3rd Paige Millward Bike Pure

Youth 600m Handicap
1st James Nolan Eastlands Velo
2nd Sam Hall Lyme RC
3rd George Hancock

A Class Devil
1st Alex Simmons
2nd Alex Braybrooke Velocity WD40
3rd James Notley

B Class Points
1st Phil Kirkpatrick
2nd Joseph Early Liverpool Century
3rd Tom Haines

Sprinters Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Tom Rotherham
3rd Phil Houlton

Youth 6 lap Scratch
1st Caleb Hill Lyme RC
2nd Alistair Kennington
3rd Liam Davies

10 Mile Scratch
1st Tom Rotherhan
2nd James Notley
3rd Alex Braybrooke

B Class
1st Phil Kirkpatrick
2nd Andrew Jackson
3rd Ian Taylor PM

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,