Result – Winchcombe Kermesse


Grant Bayton (Ride 24/7) wins the  VC Montpellier’s  Winchcombe Kermesse road race

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Winchcombe Kermesse

Bayton Wins Second Winchcombe Kermesse


Grant Bayton (Ride 24/7) won the second edition of the Winchcombe Kermesse on Sunday after a fine solo attack on the last lap of the 60 mile race. Bayton, current leader of the Cotswold Cycle Racing League, was a worthy winner of Pat Smith Memorial Trophy as presented by Winchcombe Town Council. Bayton also walked away with the bespoke Forgeability winners’ trophy.

Racing got underway from Winchcombe School and saw a number of riders eager to escape the fast moving peloton behind. Team Ride 24/7 (Cirencester) had brought a strong team to the race, keeping the speed high through a succession of strong attacks. Eventually, one of their riders’ – ex-professional Ben Luckwell – broke clear with a fellow rider. However, it was clear that the 60 strong peloton weren’t going to let them escape and they were soon reeled in.

This prompted more attacks, with two further riders breaking clear, including local rider Richard Cleaver (Leisure Lakes RT). Both held the peloton at around 30 seconds for a number laps but, again, the pursuers wouldn’t let them gain more than a minute’s advantage. Cleavers’ fine performance earned him the ‘Most Aggressive Rider’ prize for the second year running which was proudly presented by Inside Out of Winchcombe.

Once the breakaway had been caught, the race looked set for a bunch sprint for the finish line. Bayton had other ideas; attacking as the bell sounded outside the Harvest Home pub, he quickly built up a strong advantage. Ascending the final rise before the descent to the finish, the peloton were chasing hard. He held a narrow margin to clinch the win in front of an exuberant crowd.

Ben Carty of Felt-Colbournes jumped clear in the finish straight to take a fine second place, ahead of Ride 24/7 ‘s Ben Luckwell who won the bunch gallop to the line.

Winchcombe Town Council Pat Smith Memorial Trophy – Grant Bayton (Ride 24/7)
Forgeabiliy Winner Trophy – Grant Bayton (Ride 24/7)
Inside Out Most Aggressive Rider – Richard Cleaver (Leisure Lakes RT)


1. Grant Bayton Ride 24/7
2. Ben Carty Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
3. Benjamin Luckwell Ride 24/7
4. Lee Davis Velosure – Giordana RT
5. David Lowe Dave Hinde RT
6. Simon Coles Norwood Paragon
7. Adam Cape Finchley RC
8. Craig Wallduck Dream Cycling
9. Marc Flay Stratford Cycle Studio – RPC
10. Joe Barry Ride 24/7
11. Ross Evans Radeon Cycle Coaching
12. Michael Ward Ride 24/7
13. Alastair Barnard Gloucester City CC
14. Justin Belcher Banbury Star CC
15. Thomas Leach Gloucester City CC
16. Sean Townsend Gloucester City CC
17. Geoff Ripley Bristol RC
18. Jason Flooks VC Bristol Webbs of Warmley
19. Stuart McCombie Bristol RC
20. Matt Ullmer Performance Cycles
21. Jamie Penton Radeon Cycle Coaching
22. Greg Lancaster VC Bristol Webbs of Warmley
23. Tom Maisey Bristol RC
24. Adrian Bird Worcester St Johns CC
25. Richard Cleaver Leisure Lakes
26. Aaron Collins Cotswold Veldrijden
27. Billy Osmond Ride 24/7
28. Nathan Anscombe Bristol RC
29. Gethin Llewelyn West Wales RT
30. Niel Dunnage Cotswold Veldrijden
31. Nick Walmsley Cotswold Veldrijden
32. Luke Souter Banbury Star CC
33. Steven Roach Private
34. Rob Yeatman BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
35. Gordon Markus Severn RC
36. Chris Nyonyintono Performance Cycles
37. Harry Walton Cheltenham & County CC
38. Ruan Bester Bath Cycling Club
39. Tom Ilett Bristol South CC
40. Cameron Smalley North Cotswold CC
41. Paul Watson Radeon Cycle Coaching
42. Anthony Lake Gloucester City CC
43. Matthew Franklin Dymag-T-1-D
44. Nick Watson R ide 24/7
45. Garry Jones Gloucester City CC
46. Harry Edwards Gloucester City CC
47. Malcolm Dixon Dream Cycling
48. Hugh Knudsen Team Tor 2000

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,