Report – Grass Track at Fornham All Saints


West Suffolk Wheelers and Triathlon Club’s Grass Track Meet at Fornham All Saints

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Grass Track at Fornham All Saints
(report & photos by Fergus Muir)

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Andrew Leverton (VC St Raphael) and Richard Meadows (Cottingham Coureurs) were the winners of the National League counting races at West Suffolk Wheelers’ grass track meeting near Bury St Edmunds.


The lead group in the 8 km was soon reduced to seven and then to four: Meadows, Nick Barnes (Zepnat), Joe Clarke (Fenland Clarion) and Graham Collins (Ipswich BC). Collins had a minor drama when his foot came out after touching wheels. He recaught the front group, but trailed to fourth when Meadows put the pressure on and took the win from Barnes and Clarke.

The Under 16s race saw Jake Towler (Mildenhall CC) set the early pace, soon to be joined by James Jackson (Colchester Rovers), Oliver Woolsey (CC Ashwell) and Kieran Jarvis (Great Yarmouth CC). At the bell Jackson opened a gap and held it to the line.

There were big entries of youth riders from West Suffolk Wheelers, Colchester Rovers and from CC Ashwell, whose members Mark Fraser and Mark Wyer are behind the new website Youth Cycle Sport “the home of cycle racing on the web for young riders and their parents” at


The next East Anglian grass meet, the Maldon & District CC races on June 21st have sadly been cancelled for lack of entries. However the Plomesgate CC event at Bredfield next day has a healthy field and is all-systems-go.


National short distance Series 800m
1. Andrew Leverton VC Raphael
2. Lewis Meadows Cottingham Coureurs
3. Nicholas Barnes
4. Jack Duffy Cottingham Coureurs
5. Joe Clarke Fenland Clarion
6. Graham Collins Ipswich Bicycle Club

National 8k Series
1. Richard Meadows Cottingham Coureurs
2. Nicholas Barnes
3. Joe Clarke
4. Graham Collins
5. Jack Duffy
6. Simon Daw CC Sudbury

2 Lap Seniors
1. Andrew Leverton
2. Lewis Meadows
3. Nicholas Barnes

Senior Devil (Elimination Race)
1. Nicholas Barnes
2. Richard Meadows
3. Joe Clarke

Senior Win and Out
1. Nicholas Barnes
2. Peter Clements Mildenhall CC
3. Andrew Whelan Elmy Cycles

1. Andrew Whelan/Graham Collins
2. Peter Clements/Matt Cook Mildenhall CC
3. Joseph Warren/James Jackson Colchester Rovers

Under 16 Omnium
1. James Jackson
2. Oliver Woolsey CC Ashwell
3. Henry Skelding CC Ashwell

Under 14 Omnium
1. Gareth Lewis CC Ashwell
2. Sam Asker West Suffolk Whs & TC
3. Conor Humphrey CC Ashwell

Under 12 Omnium
1. Dexter Mansell-Thomas Colchester Rovers
2. Adam Lightfoot CC Ashwell
2. Harley Pell CC Ashwell

Under 10 Omnium
1. Mark Lightfoot CC Ashwell
2. Nathan Hardy CC Ashwell
2. Jodie Taylor Colchester Rovers

Under 8 Omnium
1. Samuel Quiggan CC Ashwell
2. Harley Gregory West Suffolk Whs & TC
3. Bradley Taylor Colchester Rovers


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,