Result – Nick Clark Memorial Road Race

Dominic Jelfs of Madison Genesis wins the E/1/2/3 Nick Clark Memorial Road Race at Cheddington on Sunday (June 22)

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Nick Clark Memorial Road Race (thanks Des)

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Following on from the morning’s Regional race, the National B Nick Clark RR promoted by the Kenton RC was also blessed with superb weather and mercifully fewer equine incidents, held on the same Kemesse style circuit based on the village of Mentmore Bucks.

Several early attacks gained a few seconds but were brought back by a fast moving and attentive bunch. About a third of the way through however the peloton relaxed and a group eased off the front containing the nucleus of the winning break.

Several riders tried to get across as the gap stretched out, with most dropping back to the bunch. The break then eased up possibly disrupted by the efforts to win the Aveas Partners prime, won by Dominic Jelfs from Madison Genesis, this allowed a small group of three riders including Danny Axford (Arctic Tacx) to bridge the 40 second gap. The new comers seemed to instil a renewed sense of urgency into the break now consisting of nine riders and the gap stretched back to around a minute.

With five laps to go the chasing bunch realised time was running out to get the race back and their pace suddenly shot up, descending towards Ledburn at over 50mph, however two laps later with the gap down to 30 seconds, they eased off again allowing the resurgent leaders to get back to a healthy minute plus lead.

A big effort with three miles to go from Danny Axford saw him gap his companions but it wasn’t enough and the break, with gaps opening up between the wheels and perspiration on the faces of the riders, chased hard to bring him back and maintain the gap over their pursuers.

A counter move by Dean Shannon (Richardsons-Trek RT), almost took the break by surprise as they momentarily hesitated and looked like perfect timing giving the impression that he was riding to a perfect opportunists victory.

Approaching the last kilometre, the sprinters in the break, sensed the race slipping away and applied full gas to catch Dean on the approach to the cruel uphill finish to deny him his triumph and leave him to settle for 4th. The prime winner Dominic Jelfs won by a bike length with Callum Grieve,, edging out Harold Evans, Cadence Cycling Performance by a tyre length and Ashley Proctor, Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo in 4th, with Danny Axford finding some energy in his legs to gain 5th place.

The bunch came in a minute and eight seconds later with the evergreen Tony Gibb (CSE) taking the uphill sprint at the head of a galloping bunch, thankfully with no horses involved.

From an organiser’s point of view, the one disappointment having to return entries and let riders down was the number of riders that failed to turn up on the day with no apology or advance warning, meaning some riders didn’t get a start that possibly could have.

Well done to all those who took part and hopefully next year’s event will be as successful. A special thanks to Joel Stewart of Aveas Partners, , for their generous contribution to this year’s prize fund.

1 Dominic Jelfs Madison Genesis
2 Callum Grieve
3 Harold Evans Cadence Cycling Performance
4 Ashley Proctor Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo
5 Danny Axford Arctic Tacx RT
6 Doug Coleman CC Luton
7 Dean Shannon Richardsons-Trek RT
8 Felix Barker Cycling Team Friuli
9 Christopher Palfreeman Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT
10 Anthony Gibb CSE Racing
11 Tom Neale Team Corley Cycles
12 Lloyd Chapman Richardsons-Trek RT
13 Jake Hales WyndyMilla – Reynolds
14 James Bevan Army Cycling Union
15 George Wood Richardsons-Trek RT
16 Colin Bailey North Road CC
17 Nicholas Wilkinson Cadence Cycling Performance
18 Martin Ford PM
19 Malcolm Smith St Ives CC
20 Edward Palfreeman Team Corley Cycles
21 Sean McGovern Teamwallis CHH Racing Team
22 Stuart Travis 45 Road Club
23 Lewis Stevens Strada Sport
24 Anthony Morris Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
25 Ryan Perry Army Cycling Union
26 Andy Lyons Richardsons-Trek RT
27 Chris Snook Madison Genesis
27 Owen Lake Richardsons-Trek RT
28 Freddy Pett Kings Lynn CC
29 Jordan Bason NFTO Race Club
30 Ed Ashby PM
31 Joshua Voulters Rapha Condor Cycling Club
32 Jacob Tipper KTM
33 Stephen Wood Peterborough CC
34 Jeremy Honor
35 Edward Watkiss Bonito Squadra Corse
36 Luke Morgan CC Luton
37 Alastair Hepworth Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo
38 Paul Carr Team Corley Cycles
39 Steve Golla High Wycombe Cycling Club
40 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC
41 Stephen Cavey Catford CC Equipe/Banks
42 Mike Jackson CC Luton
43 Ben Sumner Beeline Bicycles RT
44 Edward Silverton Bicicielo
45 John McVey Velo Schils – Interbike RT
46 Sean Dines CC Luton
47 William Smith Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
48 Connor Swift Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo
49 Edmund Bradbury Cambridge University RT – Hunter Gibson – Chain Reaction Cycles
50 Adrian Bird Worcester St Johns CC
51 Neil Wass TMG Horizon Cycling Team
52 David Mclean Cambridge University RT – Hunter Gibson – Chain Reaction Cycles
53 Samuel Evans Dulwich Paragon CC
54 Christophe Demoulin Bonito Squadra Corse
55 Paul Crook WDMBC/Beyond/Specialized
56 Matthew Sumpton Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo
58 Richard Wood Arbis – Colbert Cycles RT
59 James Fox CC Luton
60 David Billings VC St Raphael
61 Genadijs Tilgalis Greenwheel Cycles
62 Luke Merrilees WyndyMilla – Reynolds
63 Roy Chamberlain Team Corley Cycles
64 Philip Holloway Southend Wheelers
65 Mark Yale VC Revolution
66 Tim Carter Virgin Active
67 Stephen Nunn Finchley Racing Team
68 Jonathan Shuster Team Corley Cycles

DNS Nick Noble BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
DNF William Scott Bonito Squadra Corse
DNF James Dixon Cambridge University RT – Hunter Gibson – Chain Reaction Cycles
DNF George Farrell CSE Racing
DNF Alastair Luxford CSE Racing
DNF Arthur Tye Dulwich Paragaon CC
DNF Jonathan Chapman CC Ashwell
DNF Tim Granshaw Handsling Racing
DNF Frank Kilsby VC St Raphael
DNF Mark Thomas Worcester St Johns CC
DNF Harry Thomas Worcester St Johns CC
DNS Carl Dyson Achieve-Skinnergate Racing
DNS Alexander Royle Army Cycling Union
DNS James Stewart Bonito Squadra Corse
DNS Apol Stewart Wilson Bonito Squadra Corse
DNS Joel Natale Dulwich Paragon CC
DNS Stoyko Boussarov Newdales Cycles RT
DNS Apol Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles
DNS Apol Richard Jerome Team Dassi
DNS Apol Nick Perks Velo Schils – Interbike RT
DNS Mark Westwood PM


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,