Report & Results – Ford CC Go Race


Second win in a row for Jeremy Perks (Athlon Sport) to tie the series with Colin McPherson (Travers Bikes)

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Ford CC Go Race
(Thanks Caroline)

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Rain all day made for the smallest turn out of the series with only 20 riders starting the last Go Race before the track is closed for resurfacing. The rain stopped 20 minutes before the start of what would be a winner takes all battle between Colin McPherson of Travers Bikes and Jeremy Perks of Athlon Sport for the series. The bunch set off at a slower pace than normal due to its reduced size and stayed settled until after the first prime won by Sam Brown.

Martin Ryan (Ford CC) and James Samuel (Crest CC) managed to break away from the bunch on lap 5 with Martin then remaining up front solo, but it was all back together within 2 laps. The second prime was narrowly won by Colin Dilliway from Sam Brown on the line. Another break then formed on lap 10 with Martin Ryan again and this time Luca Reina from Crest CC, building a good lead at one point. Unfortunately for the break, Chris Hollis (Athlon Sport) buried himself to bring it back with just over 1 lap to go to set up a sprint for his teammate.

Jeremy Perks (Athlon Sport) edged out Colin McPherson (Travers Bikes) to secure his second win in a row in the series. Sam Brown came in third. This result meant that Jeremy and Colin tied on 318 points with 2 wins and 2 second places each, with Jeremy Perks being the Senior winner and Colin McPherson the vets. With a 9th place on the night, Thomas King (Welwyn Wheelers) was the top Junior in the Series.

Results from Race 6:
1 Jeremy Perks Senior Athlon Sport
2 Colin McPherson Veteran Travers Bikes
3 Sam Brown Senior 0
4 Ross Courtnell Senior Travers Bikes
5 Lee Cullender Senior 0
6 James Samuel Senior Crest CC
7 Martin Ryan Veteran Ford CC
8 Paul Catling Veteran Athlon Sport
9 Thomas King Junior Welwyn Wheelers
10 Kevin Darragh Veteran Maldon CC
11 Michael Travers Veteran Travers Bikes
12 Jake Darragh Junior Maldon CC
13 Luca Reina Veteran Crest CC
14 Colin Dilliway Veteran 0
15 Simon King Veteran 0
16 Kateel Rahman Quereshi Senior Travers Bikes
17 Ryan Savage Senior Crest CC
18 Chris Hollis Veteran Athlon Sport

Overall winners:
1st: Jeremy Perks (Athlon Sport): 318 points
2nd : Ross Courtnell (Travers Bikes): 296 points
3rd: Lee Cullender (Essex Roads) : 289 points

1st: Colin McPherson (Travers Bikes): 318 points
2nd: Martin Ryan (Ford CC): 300 points
3rd: Chris Hollis (Athlon Sport): 278 points

Those who came in 2nd and 3rd in the above please contact me for your prizes. thanks to everyone that came and raced this year, hope to see some of you again next year when it will be back to its usual 8 race format.

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,