Results & Report – Keirin London


Rollapaluza’s Keirin festival, which originated at the Herne Hill track managed to dodge the rain clouds for it’s third incarnation this Saturday.

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results & Report – Keirin London

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here
Skinner and Colborne Victorious – Dutch Junior takes support race
Herne Hill Velodrome London 2nd August 2014

Despite the weather forecast, a huge crowd descended on the South London loop to experience the unique atmosphere generated by this event. As at Keirin Manchester, riders in the elite male category wore brightly coloured keirin jerseys from Milltag inspired by the traditional attire of Japanese Keirin racers.


In another innovation, specially modified e-bikes developed and supplied by Team Hybrid, paced the riders instead of petrol dernies usually used in Keirin races outside Japan. Completely silent these pacing bikes, capable of 78kmh, added a new aspect to the racing as the racers were unable to judge the arrival of the pacing bike, relying solely on the starters gun.

Riders from all over the UK, Holland, Denmark, the Czech Republic and Uganda fought their way through three scoring rounds to garner enough points to make it to the eight man final. In the format devised by Rollapaluza no rider in any category is knocked out and those who don’t make the final for places 1-8 race in minor finals to produce a full classification for all riders.

Throughout the meeting seeded riders Michael Veen and Callum Skinner looked to be the favourites with tactically astute riding from the Dutchman and pure power and speed from Skinner, fresh from the Commonwealth Games. These two plus Danish champion William Rimkratt-Milkowski indeed made the final.

With one lap to go the favourites looked to be in control but SES racing’s Miles Stovold edged out Veen for second as Skinner took the win. A storming performance from Local rider Richard St Pierre saw him pass the Dane to take an impressive fourth.


The women’s event though having a broader spectrum of talent was equally exciting and competitive with some of the closest finishes of the day during the first and second round. As in the men’s however three riders emerged as favourites, local racer Lesley Pinder, Kiera McVitty and 4th placed rider from Manchester Keirin Henrietta Colborne. It was indeed these riders who battled for the podium a few lengths clear at the finish line, with Colborne timing her effort perfectly passing Pinder on the line with McVitty taking 3rd.


The Novice event was no less keenly fought than the other categories with riders using all the tactics and skills displayed in the elite event. The novice event has been present in every edition of Keirin so far and many “novices” from 2013 stepped up to the main event for 2014. Karoly Markos who finished in last place in 2013 stepped on the podium this time finishing in third place with Jack Miller taking 2nd and visiting Dutch Junior taking the win.

Full results and photos:
KEIRIN 2014 – LONDON (thanks Willi)

Rollapaluzza International Keirin 2014
1 Callum Skinner Rigmar Racers
2 Miles Stovold SES Racing
3 Michael Veen Netherlands
4 Richard St Pierre Brixton CC
5 Paul Swanton SES Racing
6 William Rimkratt-Milkowski Denmark
7 Matthew Roper Brixton CC
8 Rupert Parker SES Racing
9 Melvyn Akins Brixton CC
10 Vojtech Blazejovksy Brixton CC
11 James Brightwell Performance CC
12 Jonathan Crowther CS Grupetto
13 Simon Schmidt Brixton CC
14 Jim Sullivan Brixton CC
15 Henry Martin VC Londres
16 Atiba Quildan Twickenham CC
17 Jamie Alexander Glasgow Rapide
18 Ho Ke LFGSS
19 Paul Gittins Brooks Cycles
20 Jonathan Tyler Brixton CC
21 William MacFarlane East London Velo
22 Patrick Lawino Uganda
23 Ash Ellis Performance CC
24 Alex Fairweather Brixton CC

Novice Male Result

1 Jeroen Van Goor
2 Jack Miller
3 Karoly Markos
4 Craig Drake
5 Robert Green
6 David Beckett

7 Stephen Sorba
8 Damon McCartney
9 Jai Watson
10 Tom Simpson
11 David Matour
12 Kacper Hamilton

Female Result

1 Henrieta Colbourne
2 Lesley Pinder
3 Kiera McVitty
4 Louise Laker
5 Hisayo Kaneko
6 Emma Towers

7 Michelle Sellars
8 Hannah Meads
9 Tessa Pugh
10 Sarah Strong


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,