Results – Bishop Auckland Crits


Harry Tanfield & Matthew Worton were the winners on Wednesday night at Bishop Auckland for the Velo29 circuit races there

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Bishop Auckland Crits
(thanks Julie)

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Harry Tanfield of KTM takes an impressive win in the first ever Bishop Auckland Cycle Races

A brand new event from Velo29, the Bishop Auckland Cycle Races was ran off in front of a huge crowd under hot sun on the evening of Wednesday 6th August.

Harry Wins Dean Reeve2

Velo29 are bringing us an increasing number of top events in the North East and the new Bishop Race is one of their best. A full night of racing starting with Youth racing, then amateur and the night closing with the Elite and 1st Cat riders.

A new circuit of 840m took in all of what is a surprisingly attractive Town Centre and a great location to run a bike race. It was a mix of fast straights, only 1 significantly tight corner and a number of fast sweeping bends making for an open and exciting race, with the main spectator area having a great view of almost 50% of the action.

As well as the racing we had World Champion Mattie Hemmings entertaining the crowd with his amazing BMX skills and some Roller Racing for the locals to take part in and enjoy plus loads of displays and other activities for crowds to enjoy.

All the Northern big teams were represented and though it wasn’t a full field, it was a quality one. Velo29 were offering the full Elite Series package, including the prize pot which always attracts the big names!

Harry attacked from the line with what was clearly a suicide move, however the crowd were grateful as it made for a seriously exciting first 20 minutes. Harry reports he was riding at over 380 watts until getting caught, impressive indeed! However with so much at stake, there was no way the bunch were going to watch a favorite ride away.

Bustard And Dangerous Dave Dean Reeve

From then the race stayed largely together for 15 minutes, attacks came for the sprint at 20 laps with Adam Duggleby of Wheelbase taking the line from Harry Tanfield with Tommy Bustard of Giodana Velo in 3rd.

At the half way point the race spilt and a group of 12 moved clear of the rest of the field. The remaining riders would eventually be pulled out as it was impossible not to interfere with the racing on such a tight circuit.

Attacks came again for the 25 lap sprint prime and again it was Duggleby taking the points over Tanfield with 3rd this time going to Craig Anderson of Achieve Cycle Coaching.

More attacks came but Dave Clarke of KTM, finding his Criterium feet was playing an excellent team role, clearly an agreement with Tanfield who had now recovered from his early brave efforts. Clarke held the front of the bunch at an awesome pace for the final 10 laps, nothing could get away and Dave didn’t look up once to request a tap through.

Impressively Tanfield moved up and on the last lap and with 3 corners to go hit the front. In this tight circuit the winner would be the first out the last corner and Harry knew this, acting wisely and attacking with 300m to go.

He flew out the last bend and had time for the victory salute before snatching the brakes at the end of the finishing straight.

It was mighty close though with Adam Duggleby only 0.120 seconds behind him and Adam Martin of Metaltek another 0.247 seconds back.

A great nights racing on an excellent new circuit with a great crowd and supportive Town. One we can grow in years to come and establish as a significant event on the calendar.

1 Harry Tanfield Ktm
2 Adam Duggleby Wheelbase
3 Adam Martin Metaltek Kuota
4 Tom Barras Wheelbase
5 Dave Shackleton Wilson Wheels
6 S Reid Wheelbase
7 S Wilson Wheelbase
8 Ashley Marshall Achieve Skinner
9 Dave Clarke Ktm
10 Tom Bustard Giodana Velo
11 R Davis Starlite Primal
12 J Reece Achieve Skinnergate
13 A Nickson Blackhawk Bikes
14 M Kipling Velo 29
15 Paul Caswell Harrogate Nova
16 B Hetheribgton Achieve Skinner
17 A Orell Turner Wheelbase
18 J Anderson Adept Racing
19 Lewis Meadows Cottingham Cours
20 C Anderson Achieve Skinnergate


Cat 3/4
1 Matthew Worton Blackhawk Bikes
2 M Hoyle Wheelbase
3 D Grin Edinburgh Rc
4 J Caisley Northumberland Police
5 C Burns Unnattached
6 J Howard Martin Rt
7 C Stevens Achieve Skinnergate
8 S Fullerton Darlington Cc
9 T Irwin Tyneside
10 G Bourne Ferryhill Whs

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,