Report – North Yorkshire RR League


York Cycleworks staged the final race evening race in the North Yorkshire Road Race League series last night won by Jon Savage

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – North Yorkshire RR League

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

NYRRL 8 Whldrake circuit | Thanks Julie

Choosing the flat Wheldrake circuit just outside York, they certainly saved the best to last, a nice sunny summers evening. The race was well attended with forty five riders taking to the start line with 3 and 3/4 laps ahead of them taking in the villages of Thorngaby and Wheldrake. It certainly was a night that brought every obstacle onto the course from horses, joggers, tractors and evening a large haulage vehicle on the corners. Everything was negotiated smoothly and a fine race was in store.

We initially had a few riders trying to break away but these were soon brought back as the bunch wasn’t letting anything get away. Lap two saw a move with Paul Hickman (Malton wheelers) and James Moohan (Darlington CC) break clear. They worked well together and built up a gap of eighteen seconds, however with the series leaders chasing final points this wasn’t to stay away and they were reeled in.

As we approached the bell lap, everyone was back in the main bunch, with a few unfortunates thinking the race was over by sprinting to the line a lap early. This shook up the main bunch and a race was well and truly on the cards. The final time through Wheldrake village saw two riders clip off the front, Jon Savage (Clifton CC) and Colin Baldwin (Malton wheelers).

These two worked well, sharing the work load and soon gained a gap of twenty seconds, with the roads twisting they were out of sight out of mind from the main bunch. Jon and Colin as they came through the final village were now hanging onto a slender fifteen second advantage.

As they turned he final left hand corner it was a fight to stay away from the quickly approaching pack of chasing riders they hung on for Jon Savage to take the win from Colin Baldwin, with the bunch being led home by Tom Wood (Paul Milnes cycles Bradford).

It was a wonderfully staged event with a finish area well marked with flags as good as any elite series race. This was the final evenings race in a series of eight races. The overall riders award went to Stephen Ward of In Gear coaching and the team award was won by Albarosa RT.

A superb series held by the local clubs, well done all the riders that took part, and a big thanks to the organisers for staging a good series of events, let’s start planning for next year.

1 Jon Savage Clifton CC
2 Colin Baldwin Malton wheelers
3. Ton Wood Paul Milnes cycles
4. Stephen Ward In gear coaching Biemme
5. Ricky Feather Feather cycles
6. Ryan Ellis Nfto race club
7. Richard Benson Albarosa RT
8. Liam O’Toole Sheffrec CC
9. Will Thomas Hull Thursday road club
10. Edward Evans Skipton CC

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,