Report – Pontefract Grand Prix


An action packed day of racing at the very first Pontefract Grand Prix which saw four races take place

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Pontefract Grand Prix

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

An action packed day of racing at the very first Pontefract Grand Prix which saw four races take place on the 1km long town centre circuit.

19 year old Harry Tanfield showed off his current form beating HARIBO Beacon star Pete Williams in a two-man sprint to win the Pontefract Grand Prix Elite Race under rainy skies. The duo broke clear of the main field after 7 aggressive laps of racing around the 1km town centre circuit and built a lead of 40 seconds over the chasing group including Williams’ team mate Jacob Scott who won the bunch sprint to take the third spot on the podium.


A series of other events preceded the professional race at 14.45 and included a family ride on the closed road circuit at 10am before an under 16’s race at 11.30am won by Dinnington rider Liam Hindmarsh, who also competed in the mens support race at 13.30 which was won by Jacob Trotter of Squadra RT.

Some of the UKs leading female cyclists competed in the 12.20pm race and on form Melissa Lowther of the Matrix Prendas RT lead a clean sweep of the podium with her team mates Jessie Walker and Penny Rowson, 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Event organiser Ashley Brown commented “It was great to bring Town Centre Circuit Racing to Pontefract for the very first time. Despite the adverse weather conditions we had over 1000 spectators turn up in the pouring rain and the riders didn’t fail to excite with some great quality racing. We had great support from Wakefield Council, HARIBO Beacon Cycling team and local cycling club BBM Revolution to make the event possible with additional support from Amey and DM Keith Skoda. We plan to bring the race back again next year as part of the British Cycling Elite Series”

1 Harry Tanfield KTM
2 Peter Williams HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
3 Jacob Scott HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
4 Joseph Wiltshire NFTO Race Club
5 Owen Lake Richardsons-Trek RT
6 Ashley Marshall Achieve-Skinnergate Racing
7 William Brown Achieve-Skinnergate Racing
8 Ryan Davis Starley Primal Pro Cycling
9 Andrew Nichols Langsett Cycles RT
10 Karl Baillie HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
11 Joshua Jones
12 James King HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
13 Jack Rees Achieve-Skinnergate Racing
14 Benjamin Kellett Champion System/Club Roost/Max…
15 Martin Ford

1 Jacob Trotter Squadra RT
2 James Hill RST Racing Team
3 Robert Scott PH-MAS Cycling
4 Joshua Cutler 3RT
5 Richard Jones Achieve-Skinnergate Racing
6 Thomas Pidcock Chevin Trek
7 Geoffrey Martin Huddersfield Star Whlrs
8 Karl Freeman Team Wheelguru
9 Simon Gueller Chevin Trek
10 Peter Holdsworth Huddersfield Star Whlrs

2/3/4 Women
1 Melissa Lowther Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
2 Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
3 Penny Rowson Matrix Fitness – Vulpine
4 Jenny Eastham Airedale Olympic CC
5 Sian Botteley
6 Clara Sandelind PH-MAS Cycling
7 Melissa Greaves Bronte Wheelers/Neophix Engine…
8 Leah Pheasey PH-MAS Cycling
9 Rebecca Richards Newark Castle CC
10 Claire Rutherford Team Wheelguru

U16 Boys
1 Liam Hindmarsh Dinnington Racing Club
2 Will King East Bradford CC
3 Ben Turner Paul Milnes Cycles/Bradford Ol…

U16 Girls
1 Jayati Hine RST Racing Team
2 Elizabeth Denby Paul Milnes Cycles/Bradford Ol…
3 Caitlin Shaw M and D Cycles/Scimitar Sports…

U14 Boys
1 Jack Ford Holmfirth Cycling Club
2 Robert Donaldson Mossley CRT
3 Toby Tanfield Cleveland Wheelers CC

U14 Girls
1 Anna Docherty Clifton CC
2 Ava May Oxley-Szilaggi Kirklees Cycling Academy
3 Rachel Earnshaw Clifton CC

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,