News – Isle of Man Success in Ireland


Team RL360 riders dominated the recent Errigal International Youth Tour in Co. Donegal Ireland, winning two of the three categories overall

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Isle of Man Success in Ireland
(by Dot Tilbury)

Erigal Team 2014

The three-day event was staged in sometimes atrocious conditions on the hilly roads around the village of Churchill and consisted of four special stages, including two road races, a time trial and a criterium on the streets of Letterkenny.

Competing in a top field of over 250 of the best youth riders from England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and as far afield as Malta, Owen Dudley and William Draper won the Under 16 and Under 14 age groups in impressive style. The two talented young Manxmen set up their overall victories on the opening day when they both won their classes in stage one’s tough road races, which included the notorious Keeloges climb up to Churchill.

In the U/16’s race Dudley beat breakaway partner Jake Gray (FBD Ireland Talent Team) in the final dash for the line to take a slender four second lead in the overall standings. His RL360 team mates came in a little further down the ninety four strong field, with Conor Davies finishing a good 10th, Michael Moss 20th, Nathan Hinks 55th and Daniel Scarffe, who lost a lot of time in a crash, 69th.

Dudley maintained his narrow lead after finishing third behind Ronan Tuomey and Jake Gray (both FBD Ireland Talent Team) in stage two’s hilly time trial. Conor Davies was 16th fastest, Daniel Scarffe 18th, Michael Moss 20th and Nathan Hinks 58th.

Another third place in stage three’s second road race consolidated Dudley’s position at the head of the overall leader board. Adam Hartley (Mid Shropshire Whs) outsprinted fellow frontrunner Mark Donovan (Beacon Wheelers) for the victory, with Dudley pipping main rival Jake Gray for the final podium position. Moss, Davies and Scarffe all came home in the main chasing bunch in 10th, 12th and 23rd positions respectively, with Hinks further back in 39th spot.

With the overall honours still in the balance, the fourth and final stage in Letterkenny was a nail biting affair. However, the RL360 team worked selflessly to protect Dudley’s lead. Michael Moss policed the three-man break at the head of the race, gaining a fine third place as a reward for his efforts, while Davies and Hinks chased down any dangerous attacks, including a bold bid for glory by main threat Gray. Mission accomplished, Dudley, Davies and Hinks crossed the line safely in the bunch in 10th, 12th and 21st places.

At the finish Dudley was declared the overall winner just four seconds ahead of Gray, who in turn had thirteen seconds in hand over Adam Hartley. Moss and Davies ended the three days in 12th and 13th positions on GC, with Hinks and Scarffe slotting into 42nd and 62nd spots.

In the U/14’s age group Will Draper won the first road race by a clear margin, giving him a comfortable 28 second cushion in the race for the overall honours. The ever improving Adam Kelly was seventh, Thomas Bostock tenth, Tosh Teare 19th, Adam Scarffe 23rd and Tara Ferguson the fourth girl in 43rd place.

A third place in stage two’s time trial kept Draper on top of the standings. Kelly was 21st, Bostock 23rd, Scarffe 32nd, Teare 33rd and Ferguson second girl in 34th position. In the following road race Draper was third in the leading bunch sprint, with Kelly and Bostock just behind in ninth and 17th places. Teare was 20th, Scarffe 29th and Ferguson the first girl in 34th place.

Entering the final stage’s criterium in Letterkenny Draper had increased his advantage to 37 seconds. Aided by some great team work by Kelly and Bostock, the Douglas youngster finished a solid fifth in the bunch gallop to secure the overall victory a good 36 seconds ahead of Aaron Doherty (Wesport Covey Whs).

Kelly and Bostock were eighth and ninth in the crit to put them in ninth and tenth on GC, while Teare and Scarffe finished 17th and 46th for 16th and 32nd overall. Tara Ferguson was 45th on the final day which placed her 39th and third girl on GC.

Ramsey’s Tyler Hannay was RL360’s only representative in the U/12 class. Competing in his first major off-Island international stage race, he made a good start, finishing 18th on stage one and 15th in stage two’s time trial. Unfortunately, a crash during stage three’s road race dropped him down a few positions on GC, but he recovered well on the final day to take a fine sixth in the criterium, moving himself back up to a respectable 20th place overall.

In addition to the two individual victories the RL360 squads also won the U/14 team prize and were runners-up in the U/16’s category.

Final Overall Results (Top Twenty Only)

Under 16’s
1. Owen Dudley (RL360 Isle of Man) 3.35.14
2. Jake Gray (FBD Ireland Talent Team) @ 00.00.04
3. Adam Hartley (Mid Shropshire Whs) @ 00.00.17
4. Mark Donovan (Beacon Whs) @ 00.00.27
5. Ronan Tuomey (FBD Ireland Talent Team) @ 00.01.15
6. Adam Stenson (FBD Ireland Talent Team) @ 00.01.28
7. Stephen Dent (Nevis Cycles RT) @ 00.01.39
8. Tim James (Mid Shropshire Whs) @ 00.01.41
9. Luke Smith (Moynalty Skyway) @ 00.01.45
10. Andrew Vettraino (WoSCA Boys) @ 00.01.46
11. Joseph Nally (Hardie Bikes) @ 00.01.48
12. Michael Moss (RL360 Isle of Man) @ 00.01.51
13. Conor Davies (RL360 Isle of Man) @ 00.01.52
14. Paul Kelly (Four Masters) @ 00.01.54
15. Robert O’Leary (Cork Giant RT) @ 00.01.55
16. Marc Heaney (Carn Wheelers) @ 00.01.58
17. Ewan Grivell-Mellor (Mid Shropshire Whs) @ 00.02.08
18. Sam Tillett (Cardiff JIF CC) @ 00.02.10
19. Calum Johnston (WoSCA Boys) @ 00.02.19
20. Danny Mulholland (WoSCA Boys) @ 00.02.32

UNDER 14’s
1. William Draper (RL360 Isle of Man) @ 02.05.07
2. Aaron Doherty (Wesport Covey Whs) @ 00.00.36
3. Sean Flynn (Edinburgh RC Martin Currie) @ 00.00.37
4. Conor Halvey (Errigal CC) @ 00.00.40
5. Alfred George (Dundee Discovery Junior CC) @ = s/t
6. Struan Pryde (Deeside Thistle CC) @ 00.00.43
7. Conor Gallagher (Castlebar CC) @ = s/t
8. Liam Curley (South East RC) @ 00.00.48
9. Adam Kelly (RL360 Isle of Man) @ 00.01.00
10. Thomas Bostock (RL360 Isle of Man) @ 00.01.14
11. Adam Ward (Omagh Whs) @ 00.01.20
12. Patrick White (Munster Sensa) @ 00.01.21
13. Ciara Doogan (Errigal CC) @ = s/t – 1st girl
14. PJ Doogan (Errigal CC) @ 00.01.42
15. Shane Higgins (Black Rose Racing) @ 00.02.00
16. Tosh Teare (RL360 Isle of Man) @ 00.03.32
17. Evan O’Donnell (Munster Sensa) @ 00.03.37
18. Declan Moloney (Munster Sensa) @ 00.03.47
19. Ronan McCann (Errigal CC) @ 00.03.57
20. Aaron Burke (Galway Bay CC) @ 00.04.41

Under 12’s
1. Matti Eggleston (Beacon Whs) 00.54.40
2. Fionn Desmond (Munster Sensa) @ 00.00.19
3. Cathal Gallagher (Errigal CC) @ 00.00.27
4. Odhran Doogan (Errigal CC) @ 00.00.52
5. Donal Walsh (Errigal CC) @ 00.01.14
6. Orla Desmond (Galtee Whs) @ 00.01.34 – 1st girl
7. Eva Barnet (Edinburgh RC Martin Currie) @ =s/t
8. Tom Moriarty (Munster Sensa) @ 00.01.51
9. Oisin Murphy (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) @ 00.01.52
10. Ciaran Dixon (Ulster Youth Academy) @ 00.02.01
11. Amanda Gallagher (Errigal CC) @ 00.02.14
12. Anna Flynn (Edinburgh RC Martin Currie) @ 00.02.17
13. Maeve Gallagher (Castlebar CC) @ 00.02.33
14. Adam McGeever (Errigal CC) @ 00.02.39
15. Sean Barrett (Munster Sensa) @ 00.03.06
16. Bevan Smith (Maindy Flyers) @ 00.03.37
17. Luke Thompson (Munster Sensa) @ 00.03.51
18. Aaron O’Neill (Caldwell Cycles Omagh) @ 00.03.57
19. Ciaran McGettigan (Errigal CC) @ 00.04.04
20. Tyler Hannay (RL360 Isle of Man) @ 00.04.07





Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK