Report – Movistar win TTT in Vuelta


The Movistar team, sponsored by Scotland’s Endura, won the opening stage Team Time Trial Prologue on Saturday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Movistar win TTT in Vuelta

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here 

Dream start for Quintana as Movistar win Vuelta TTT
Movistar Team repeats success from Pamplona in 2012, takes Jonathan Castroviejo to the lead in Jerez after sensational performance


Just like in 2012, at home in the streets of Pamplona, the Movistar Team realised their dream at the start of the Vuelta a España and put one of their great domestiques, Basque specialist Jonathan Castroviejo, as the first leader of the 2014 race.

The Endura sponsored squad rode brilliantly, in perfect order and picked up their pace through the 12.6km TTT in Jerez de la Frontera, a mix of urban, technical, dangerous sections and long straights, where the squad directed by Eusebio Unzué kept always all nine men together.

Until the very final straight, following a good intermediate check -2nd, just 5″ behind Cannondale Pro Cycling, Castroviejo, Valverde, Amador, Erviti, Moreno, Quintana, Izagirre, Malori and Herrada -the latter two dropping just few meters before the end after fantastic efforts – rode to their 3rd victory in team time trials since 2011, by six seconds over the finish line.

Movistar Team’s quest to keep the leader’s jersey will start with stage two on Sunday, the first road race of the Vuelta over 174km from Algeciras to San Fernando where strong winds will be the main threat for a predictable bunch finish.

1. Movistar Team 14:13
2. Cannondale 0:06
3. Orica GreenEDGE @st
(inc Adam Yates)

4. Trek Factory Racing 0:09
5. Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
6. Team Giant-Shimano 0:16
7. Tinkoff-Saxo 0:19
8. Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
9. BMC Racing Team 0:21
10. Lampre-Merida 0:25
11. Team Sky 0:27
(inc Froome, Rowe, Kennaugh)

12. MTN – Qhubeka 0:29
13. Astana Pro Team 0:31
14. Lotto Belisol
15. AG2R La Mondiale
16. Team Katusha 0:38
17. IAM Cycling 0:40
18. Garmin Sharp 0:41
(Inc David Millar)

19. 0:45
20. Caja Rural – Seguros RGA 0:48
21. Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:51
22. Team Europcar 1:03
(inc Dan Craven)

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,