Report – Out of the Saddle RR


Solo win for James Gullen in his biggest win for a while as he attacks his way to victory in the Out of the Saddle Road Race

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Out of the Saddle RR

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

James Gullen had to attack four times to get rid of his co-escapees in the Out of the Saddle CC’s road race at Braithwell in South Yorkshire today.


James Gullen crosses the line clear of his breakaway rivals led in by Jon Dibben

The National Road Race may not have had the line up of teams that a race of that category deserves, but it certainly had some firepower in it. The orange men (Giordana) certainly had numbers and NFTO had a rider smarting from non selection at the Tour of Britain, Russell Downing along with teammates Jon Mould and Joshua Hunt.

As soon as the flag dropped, the action began and break after break went away. Nothing was getting much of a gap and even some very promising ones were undone by the work of a team missing the move such as KTM impressively bringing one back that many were certain would stick.

It was looking like a bunch kick but then a three man group got away. James Gullen, Joshua Hunt and Jon Dibben, not slowed by being stuck on the 11 after breaking a cable after ten minutes!

The peloton split into two chasing them but the gap was not budging and on the bell lap, Gullen kept on attacking and noticing it was taking longer and longer for them to bring him back, he persisted with the digs until the final one stuck and he time trialled to the victory as one of the founder members of the club, Dean Downing, looked on.

The other founder member, Russell Downing, had jumped across the gap from group three to group two and came across the 11th.

Here’s a photo report of the race:


The commisaires briefing before the racing got underway.


Jon Mould leads the race together on lap 2 but there was a lot of attacking going on all the way round the 10k circuit.


Founding member of the Out of the Saddle club Russell Downing leads a small group away which had the firepower to stick.


But it was caught by a chase group and a larger group formed led here by Metaltek Kuota’s Will Bjergfelt.


KTM though had missed it and brought it back.


Only for three riders to ecape led here by Jon Dibben stuck on the 11!


The teams represented up front didn’t want to know in the chase.


Soon a chase group formed though splitting the peloton in two.


The third group is led by Matt Holmes of Madison Genesis on his new Genesis Zero carbon bike.


Tom Bustard wins the sprint for fourth


The sprint in the final group on the road.

1. James Gullen, Giordana
2. Jon Dibben, GB academy
3. Joshua Hunt, NFTO
4. Tommy Bustard, Giordana
5. Jon Mould, NFTO
6. Dave Shackleton,
7. J Wilson,
8. P Murdoch
9. Pete Williams, Haribo Beacon
10. Nathan Admondson, Haribo Beacon
11. Russell Downing, NFTO
12. Marcin Bialoblocki, Giordana
13. Matt Cronshaw, Giordana
14. Andrew Hawdon,
15. Matt Holmes, Madison Genesis
16. George Harper, Giordana
17. J Barrett
18. B Morgan
19. C Ferguson
20. J Rees

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,