Report & Results – Salt Ayre Series


Adam Hall & Jack Pullar winners at the final round of the 2014 Circuit Race Series at Salt Ayre in Lancaster. Dillon Byrne wins the Series.

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Salt Ayre Series
from organiser Nev Pearson – Salt Ayre Cycling Association

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

The 20th and last week of the Salt Ayre Series supported by The Edge Cycleworks and Total Cycle Coach saw an excellent evening of racing carrying on after dusk under the new circuit lighting. When, after a few tentative early attacks, Jack Pullar (Starley Primal), Dillon Byrne (Champion System) and James Gullen (Velosure Giordana) broke clear, it looked like the pattern of the race was settled but the bunch had other plans and with several riders pulling strongly the gap was gradually reduced.


When the 3 breakaway riders started attacking each other, the move looked doomed so Jack Pullar took off alone and held off the rest of the field chasing him down for the last 3 laps to finish alone. Dillon Byrne took the sprint from team-mate Sam Jackson and only 13 finished from 21 starters such had been the pace.

The earlier 3/4/W race was won by local youth sprinter Adam Hall (Salt Ayre Cog Set) with both the two women competitors, Eve Dixon and Jess Atkinson (both Team 22) finishing in the top 10. Thanks are due to sponsors The Edge Cycleworks and Total Cycle Coach and to dedicated helpers Kay and Dennis for keeping the sign-on and lap board running smoothly.


1st Adam Hall Salt Ayre Cog Set
2nd Garry Jackson Lune RCC
3rd Jonny Tomes Jedi Cycle Sport
4th Josh Varty BC PM
5th Ryan Coulton Salt Ayre Cog Set
6th Eve Dixon Team 22
7th Mark Stickland Settle www
8th Paolo Brucciani Lune RCC
9th Phil Peake Lune RCC
10th Jess Atkinson Team 22
11th Simon Mumford Lune RCC
12th Andrew Parker Lancaster Uni CC
13th Leon Barnes Lancaster CC
14th John Dodgin The Edge Cycleworks
15th Tyrone Lewis COLT
16th Nicholas Marsdin Lune RCC
17th Gavin Berry BC PM
1st Jack Pullar Starley Primal
2nd Dillon Byrne Champion System
3rd Sam Jackson Champion System
4th James Claydon Bill Nickson
5th Alastair Hepworth Bike Box Alan
6th Julian Pearson Spirit Bikes
7th James Gullen Velosure Giordana
8th Sam Dobson Green Jersey
9th Jake Cowan Wallis RT
10th Ian Rutherford Lune RCC
11th Ben Harrison Lune RCC
12th John Agnew BC PM
13th Julian Judge BC PM

Thanks are due to Mr Sam Dobson for providing prizes for the season long league in the E/1/2 race. The final result was:
1st Dillon Byrne (E) – Champion System
2nd James Gullen (E) – Velosure Giordana
3rd Matt Cronshaw (E) – Velosure Giordana
4th Julian Pearson (1) – Spirit Bikes
5th James Claydon (2) – Bill Nickson
6th John Didsbury (J2) – Summit Cycling
7th Henry Hunter (1) – Team Wallis
8th Jack Pullar (E) – Starley Primal
9th Jake Cowan (2) – Team Wallis
10th Ben Greenwood (E) – Leslie Bike Shop

See you next year from the Salt Ayre Cycling Association team Tony Sweeney, Geoff Newcombe and Nev Pearson


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,