Report – Brooks Cycles Track League


Report & results from the penultimate round of the Brooks Cycles Track League took place at the Lyme Valley Velodrome on Thursday under clear blue skies

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Brooks Cycles Track League

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

The penultimate round of the Brooks Cycles Track League took place at the Lyme Valley Velodrome on Thursday 28th August 2014 at Newcastle, Staffs under clear blue skies again which has been a feature this year at the league. The league now stands at 114 registered riders for the main league and 48 in the Freewheelers which is a record.

In the A Class endurance league Paul Whatmough ( Shepherd Cycles ) made a welcome return to the league and he showed he was on form in winning the 10 lap scratch and the points race. Alex Simmons ( Swinnerton Cycles) won the course de primes and the final 10 mile scratch was won by sprinter Tom Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo ) who lapped the field with Alex and Paul.

The sprint events saw a big turnout with Sean Mayer (Swinnerton Cycles) winning the team sprint with Paul Sydenham ( Brooks Cycles) and Joe Swinnerton ( Lyme RC) and the final round of the Keiren League where he cemented the overall title. The 2-up TT was won by Tom Rotherham and Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles).

Andy Jackson ( Moda RT) sealed the B Class title in winning the 8 lap scratch after a season which saw him get better each week. Joshua Spendlow was impressive again in winning the devil, course de primes and 10 mile race.

The youth races saw 13 compete with Caleb Hill ( Lyme RC ) winning the devil and course de primes. Caleb has now won the league title with one year to go in what has been a great start to his cycling career. Harry Horn ( Lyme RC) won the opening block handicap in fine style.

The Freewheelers League was cut short due to a crash involving two riders. However I am pleased to report that both are fine and back on their bikes the next day. The night was also a Go Ride Night and after the shortened program the top riders in each group were as follows;

Group 1 Zak Edwards Lyme RC
Group 2 Lucy Scott Lyme RC
Group 3 Holly Edwards Lyme RC

Freewheelers Results
Group 1
Race 1
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Brooklen Houlton Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Zak Edwards Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Josh Jackson Lyme RC
2nd Joe Boulton Lyme RC
3rd Natasha Sandbach Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Zak Edwards
2nd Josh Jackson
3rd Joe Boulton

Group 2

Race 1
1st Lucy Scott Lyme RC
2nd Ruby Jennings Lyme RC
3rd Jack Scott Lyme RC

Race 2
1st George Graham Newcastle RC 2001
2nd Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
3rd Amy Graham

Group 3

Race 1
1st Holly Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Rufus Sema
3rd Nicholas Sandbach Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Holly Edwards
2nd Sam Waller
3rd Rufus Sema


Youth Block Handicap
1st Harry Horn Lyme RC
2nd Joel Ackers Eastlands Velo
3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 lap Scratch
1st Paul Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
2nd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC

A Class Sprinters 2 Up TT
1st Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo
2nd Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
Dave Smith Stafford RC
3rd Edward Martin Lichfield CCC
Ethan Davies Wolverhampton Wheelers

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Andy Jackson Moda RT
2nd Joshua Spendlow
3rd Mark Love Tuxford Clarion

Youth Team Sprint
1st Joel Ackers
Sam Hall
Louis Perry Lyme RC
Aiden Morley Lyme RC
Alesha Mellor Newcastle RC 2001
James Duncalf Lyme RC
Alastair Kennington Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 lap points Race
1st Paul Whatmough
2nd Joe Swinnerton
3rd Alex Simmons Swinnerton Cycles

A Class Sprinters Team Sprint
1st Paul Sydenham Brooks Cycles
Joe Swinnerton
Sean Mayer

2nd Debbie Capewell Brooks Cycles
James Roberts North Cheshire Clarion
Thomas Rotherham

3rd Lauren Quenby Swinnerton Cycles
Dave Smith
Ethan Davies

B Class Endurance Devil
1st Joshua Spendlow
2nd Conner Fearon Weaver Valley CC
3rd Richard Coates Lyme RC

Youth Devil
1st Caleb Hill
2nd Alastair Kennington
3rd James Duncalf

A Class Endurance Course De Primes
1st Alex Simmons
2nd Paul Whatmough
3rd Joe Swinnerton

B Class Course De Primes
1st Joshua Spendlow
2nd Andrew Jackson
3rd Conner Fearon

Keirin League Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Barny Swinnerton
3rd Tom Rotherham
4th Steve Cronshaw
5th Dave Smith
6th Ethan Davies

Youth 6 lap Course de Primes
1st Caleb Hill
2nd Alastair Kennington
3rd Aleshia Mellor

A Class 10 mile Scratch
1st Tom Rotherham
2nd Alex Simmons
3rd Paul Whatmough

B Class 10 Mile Scratch
1st Joshua Spendlow
2nd Mark Love
3rd Richard Coates


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,