Report – Welwyn Friday Night Track League


Weather and crashes fail to stop the Welwyn Friday Night Track League being completed

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Welwyn Friday Night Track League
(thanks Peter Waghorn)

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

The weather threatened to disturb the start of the meeting but the whole programme was completed despite two minor crashes in the Senior B scratch race and the Youth B block handicap

A good number of riders turned out in both the senior and youth categories.

John McClelland won the opening 10 lap A edging our Frank Longstaff on the line. He added the Devil and the 10 lap Block Handicap for Odd numbered riders aided by the slow start of the Group B riders. In the block handicap for even numbered riders the B group started at a fast pace and maintained this throughout and the chasing group A riders never made contact.

The closing 10 mile was run at a good pace and by half distance only a handful of riders remained.
A group of 5 riders opened up a lead – dropped to three with 4 laps left. Andy Hastings made a lone break with 3 laps to go and no one chased him down – a well taken victory

Youth A – Will Raymond won the first three events while the limit group led by Ben Webster held on to win the 8 lap handicap. Reece Pollen was on good form in the Youth B events and closed in on the series leader Millie Gage. Ollie Stockwell won the opening 3 lap scratch for CDE riders but was handicapped out of contention in the remaining events – won by Tom Sharples, Ben Griffin and Sophie Lewis

Two more Track League events to close the season

Senior A
10 lap scratch – John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Alex Murchison( Bike Shed)
Devil – john McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Martin Ruepp (Iceni Velo) Alex Murchison (Bike Shed)
10 mile – Andy Hastings (Richardson Trek) John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Alex Murchison (Bike Shed)

Senior B
10 Lap Points – Josh Roberts (Welwyn) Colin Bailey (North Road) Simon Best (North Road)
10 lap AB Block Handicap (Evens)– Josh Roberts (Welwyn) James Parrish (Lea Valley) Jez Cox (PM)
10 Lap AB Block Handicap (Odds) – John McClelland (Bush Healthcare) Charles Page (Hillingdon) Andy Hastings (Richardson

Youth A
8 lap Scratch – Will Raymond , Glen Dossett, Toby Miles (all Welwyn)
8 lap Points – Will Raymond, Cai Davies, Toby Miles (all Welwyn)
Devil – Will Raymond , Toby Miles. Alexi Edwards (all Welwyn)
8 lap Handicap – Ben Webster (Welwyn) Alexi Edwards (Welwyn) Lawrence Lisher (Green Arrow)

Youth B
6 lap scratch – Ben Longstaff (Colchester) Jamie Dene (Welwyn) Millie Gage (Welwyn)
6 lap Points – Reece Pollen (CC Hackney) Bob Longstaff (Colchester) Ben Selfe (Lea Valley)
Devil – Reece Pollen (CC Hackney) Nathan Blackmore (Welwyn) Jamie Dene (Welwyn)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scratch – Ollie Stockwell (Welwyn) Adam Lightfoot (CC Ashwell) Sophie Lewis (CC Asshwell)
3 lap handicap A – Tom Sharples, Freya Butler, Ben Hinchliffe (all Welwyn)
3 lap Handicap B – Ben Griffin, Tom Sharples, Sam Gage (all Welwyn)
4 lap Handicap – Sophie Lewis (CC Asshwell) Ben Griffin (Welwyn) Freya Butler (Welwyn)

Peter Waghorn

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,