Report – Wessex League Rd 1


Ben Sumner (Beeline Cycles) was the winner at the first round of the new season with a commanding win leading from the front.

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Wessex League Rd 1 – thanks to  Graham Robins

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Saturday 6th September


The 21 year old rider from Pangbourne took the lead early on the opening lap and was never challenged.

The opening round saw riders converse on Mary Hare School to the north of Newbury on what turned out to be a nice warm sunny day. A very challenging course was laid out in the school grounds making the most of the fantastic venue, and the racing was hosted by Newbury RC.

After the initial first lap scramble it soon settled down with four riders managing to ease away, Ben, Jamie Newall (Pedal Heaven), Luke Gray (Trek Cross Collective) and Richard Mardel (Felt Colbornes Hargroves RT).

Not too far behind was Tim Dunford (Mountain Trax) who was soon onto Richards’ wheel and at half distance saw his opportunity and slipped pass.The leading five riders were never challenged and the order remained the same until the end of the race, although Ben’s lead did diminish towards the end but he was always well in control.

The vet race was split in two because of the very large amount of riders and there were wins for Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) and Robin Delve (Mid Devon) in each category. Tamina Oliver (Endura Lady Force) won the women’s race and Chris Rothwell won the junior race.

Provisional Results
1st Ben Sumner Beeline Cycles 44mins 33secs
2nd Jamie Newall Pedal Heaven @8secs
3rd Luke Gray Trek Cross Collective @10secs
4th Tim Dunford Mountain Trax
5th Richard Mardle Felt Colbornes Hargroves RT

Vet 40
1st Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
2nd Mike Simpson GS Henley
3rd Sean Williams Cotswold Veldrijden
4th Keith Sheridan Cotswold Veldrijden

Vet 50+
1st Robin Delve Mid Devon
2nd Dave McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden
3rd Pete Smith Team Jewson
4th Donald Gray Cardiff JIF

1st Tamina Oliver Endura Lady Force
2nd Emily Wadsworth Beeline Cycles
3rd Abi Van Twisk WXC
4th Sara Barber NHRC

1st Chris Rothwell PM
2nd Buauna Ball Zappis
3rd Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden
4th Dan Tuley Chapel Tri Stars

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK