Report & Results – Weaver Valley Autumn RR


Rhodri  Owen won a crash affected Weaver Valley Road Race for category 3 and 4 riders on Sunday in Cheshire

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Weaver Valley Autumn RR

Thanks to Eleanor Underhill of Weaver Valley CC and Tom Greep

A strong field of 48 3rd and 4th category riders contested the Weaver Valley Autumn Road Race on the 50 mile Great Budworth circuit near Northwich, Cheshire.

Youngster George Evans of Mid Shropshire Wheelers broke away on the first lap and sustained his lead, at times of over a minute, until the last lap. As Evans passed the bell, his lead was dropping to less than 20 seconds, and the bunch worked together to pull Evans back on the undulating main road section of the course.

Despite staying together all race, the bunch was then split by a crash at the bottom of the Dark Lane descent, leaving a group of a dozen riders contesting the sprint, with Rhodri Owen just holding off Ryan Ellis of the NFTO Race Club on the line. Third rider was Kenny Gray from Kuoto-Spinergy-GSG.

Evans’s efforts, although finally thwarted, were rewarded with the Most Aggressive rider award.

Thanks to the chief commissaire Tom Greep, all BC officials and NEG riders, Weaver Valley’s team and marshals and the riders themselves for a successful event.

1 Rhodri Owen
2 Ryan Ellis NFTO Race Club
3 Kenny Gray Kuota – Spinergy – GSG
4 Alessandro Williams Tunstall Wheelers CC
5 Chris Gambles Horwich CC
6 Giles Bett Dave Hinde Racing Team
7 Mark Nulty Manchester Wheelers Club
8 Joseph Wilkinson Albarosa Cycling Club
9 Richard Benson Albarosa Cycling Club
10 Sam Wood Harry Middleton Cycling Club Jun
11 Andrew Hill North Cheshire Clarion
12 Robert Palmer Kuota – Spinergy – GSG
13 Jamie Fletcher Chester RC
14 Joshua Wilkes Lyme RC
15 Joseph Elwood BC Unallocated
16 John Pritchard Finsbury Park CC
17 Julian Pearce Albarosa Cycling Club
18 Kevan Underhill Weaver Valley CC
19 Marc Fairclough Leicester Forest CC
20 Darren Young Bill Nickson Cycles RT
21 Mark Hassall Dave Hinde Racing Team
22 Carl Fairclough St Helens CRC/ D. Sparrow P & H Services
23 Nick Guest Albarosa Cycling Club
24 George Evans Mid Shropshire Wheelers Jun
25 Jamie Tweddell Albarosa Cycling Club
26 Christopher Waters Ribble Valley Juniors
27 Stephen Clark BC Unallocated
28 Mark Astles Dave Hinde Racing Team
29 Simon Vazquez Chorlton Velo
30 Jonathan Stanlake BC Unallocated
31 Michael Hargreaves Huddersfield Star Wheelers
32 Paul Longley The Edge Cycleworks
33 Joe Brindley Mud Sweat n Gears CC Jun
34 Peter O’Brien Rhos on Sea Cycling Club
35 Ruth Metcalfe Rhos on Sea Cycling Club
36 James Roberts Forza

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,