Report & Result – Tejvan Pettinger tops on Mow Cop


Nicola Soden & Tejvan Pettinger fastest on the ‘Killer Mile’ at Mow Cop Hill Climb promoted by Lyme Racing Club

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – Tejvan Pettinger tops on Mow Cop

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Lyme Racing Club Hillclimb, Mow Cop, Sunday 12th October 2014 - New record for the National Champion Tejvan Pettinger


This year’s Lyme Racing Club Hillclimb on the ‘Killer Mile’ at Mow Cop saw an event record 76 riders on the startsheet, including 14 under-18s. Seven of 2013’s top 10 riders returned in 2014, including last year’s winner Tejvan Pettinger (SRI Chimnoy Cycling Team) and runner-up Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles). Early morning fog soon cleared to give us a great sunny morning for racing.

Early starter Mark Nulty (Manchester Wheelers) led the event for 40 minutes before eventually taking 16th overall – Mark had requested an early start so he could dash off up the M6 to ride the Rake hillclimb at Ramsbottom later in the day. Mark’s time was finally beaten by William Kershaw (Macclesfield Wheelers) who would take the 3rd fastest junior prize – Alex Copp (Lyme Racing Club) taking 2nd junior behind teammate Daniel Minor who set a new junior course record of 5:00.1, swiping two seconds off Jack O’Neill’s record from 2013 and quick enough for 9th overall.

Of the seven under-16s in the field, Joe Swinnerton (Lyme Racing Club) again claimed the fastest juvenile prize for the 3rd year running, his 5:31.7 just 0.4s outside his own juvenile course record. Swinnerton’s teammates Caleb Hill and Alex Coates took 2nd and 3rd juvenile prizes.

Nicola Soden ( was the fastest of the seven ladies entrants in a time of 6:02.4, ahead of Helen Eborall (Born to Bike – Bridgtown Cycles) and Fiona Prew (Stone Wheelers). Sandra Mackay ( missed out on 3rd by one second, but had the consolation of setting a new veteran ladies’ record of 6:46.1.

Fastest over-40 went to Tony Cope (Leek CC) who also took the prize in 2013. Chris Wilcox (Lyme RC) took 2nd vet, whilst Neil Skellern (Team Swift) broke his promise to never attempt to race up Mow Cop and was pleasantly surprised to take 3rd vet.

Chris Dyke (Manchester Wheelers) was the first rider to dip under 5 minutes this year – his time of 4:49.5 was matched exactly one minute later by Matt Cartlidge (Stone Wheelers) and the two riders would ultimately share 5th overall. 4th place went to Stu Marshall (Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles) just behind teammate Joe Clark who followed up his win in the Rutland CC hillclimb at Mam Nick the previous day by taking 3rd here with 4:28.9.

Matt Clinton took back the course record that Tejvan Pettinger had taken off him in 2013, setting a new mark of 4:22.8, just 0.1s quicker that Tejvan’s 2013 time. However, with the seeded riders off at the end of the field 2 minute intervals, Matt’s record would only last 1m58s before Tejvan set a new record of 4:20.4 to take the overall win.

I would like to extend my thanks to all helpers, marshals and officials who helped to make the event a success. Many thanks to all riders for supporting the event and I hope to see you all back at the 2015 edition. Lastly I’d like to wish the very best of luck to those competing in the National Hillclimb Championships in two weeks time – see you there!


Colin Mandy:

Sue Jones:

1 Tejvan Pettinger Sri Chinmoy Cycling Team M 04:20.4
2 Matt Clinton Mike Vaughan Cycles M 04:22.8
3 Joseph Clark Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles M 04:28.9
4 Stuart Marshall Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles M 04:44.2
5 Chris Dyke Manchester Wheelers Club M 04:49.5
6 Matthew Cartlidge Stone Wheelers CC M 04:49.5
7 Jack O’Neill Mike Vaughan Cycles M 04:54.3
8 Will Corden Lyme Racing Club M 04:55.0
9 Daniel Minor Lyme Racing Club Jun 05:00.1
10 Mark Tickle Leigh Premier RC M 05:05.5
11 Chris Baines Buxton CC M 05:11.6
12 Alex Copp Lyme Racing Club Jun 05:13.8
13 Ben Norbury Congleton CC M 05:17.5
14 William Kershaw Macclesfield Wheelers Jun 05:20.4
15 Tony Cope Leek Cyclists Club V 05:22.1
16 Mark Nulty Manchester Wheelers Club M 05:23.8
17 Thomas Hanlon Harry Middleton Cycling Club M 05:29.0
18 Wesley Inskip Newcastle Racing Club 2001 M 05:29.0
19 Joe Swinnerton Lyme Racing Club Juv 05:31.7
20 Chris Bailey Swinnerton Cycles M 05:35.7
21 Chris Wilcox Lyme Racing Club V 05:43.1
22 Neil Skellern Team Swift V 05:43.6
23 Joshua Wilkes Lyme Racing Club M 05:45.0
24 Keith Minor Lyme Racing Club V 05:46.6
25 Nick Decker Congleton CC M 05:46.7
26 Olda Novak Uttoxeter CC M 05:46.9
27 Bernard Swinnerton Lyme Racing Club V 05:47.6
28 Simon Hodgkinson Goldtec M 05:48.2
29 Rob Sutton Liverpool Century RC M 05:50.4
30 Oliver Atkin Headquarters Club M 05:51.9
31 Joseph Earley Liverpool Century RC M 05:52.1
32 Darren Perry Lyme Racing Club V 05:54.1
33 Shaun Brassington Uttoxeter CC M 05:55.8
34 Miss Nicola Soden L 06:02.7
35 Kris Bowditch Lyme Racing Club M 06:04.8
36 Dr. Helen Eborall Born to Bike – Bridgtown Cycles L 06:10.4
37 Phil Birch Headquarters Club V 06:13.9
38 Ben Joughin Newcastle Racing Club 2001 M 06:15.3
39 James Brayford Lyme Racing Club Jun 06:17.3
40 Robert Rhodes Newcastle Racing Club 2001 M 06:19.0
41 Mark Allen Congleton CC Jun 06:22.4
42 John Hines Lyme Racing Club V 06:23.9
43 Matthew Oxby Lyme Racing Club M 06:32.9
44 Caleb Hill Lyme Racing Club Juv 06:35.8
45 Stephen Hall Lyme Racing Club V 06:38.0
46 Eliot Powell Lyme Racing Club M 06:41.0
47 Alex Coates Lyme Racing Club Juv 06:42.0
48 Miss Fiona Prew Stone Wheelers CC L 06:45.1
49 Miss Sandra Mackay L 06:46.1
50 Miss Iona Sewell L 06:49.1
51 Miss Claire Munton Vegetarian C & AC L 06:50.0
52 Mrs. Jayne Dickens Stone Wheelers CC L 06:51.1
53 Andrew Prince Crewe Clarion Whs V 07:01.7
54 David Prince Crewe Clarion Whs V 07:15.9
55 Aidan Morley Lyme Racing Club Juv 07:23.0
56 Richard Hunt Lyme Racing Club V 07:31.9
57 Farley Barber Lyme Racing Club Juv 07:38.8
58 Joseph Langford Congleton CC Jun 07:41.1
59 Alexander Powell Lyme Racing Club M 08:00.2
60 Ethan Dakin Lyme Racing Club Juv 08:41.3
61 Brian Powell Lyme Racing Club V 09:44.3

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,