Entries open for first classic of the year


Entries now open for the 50th Perfs Pedal race in Hampshire organised by legend Mick Waite of VC St Raphael

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Entries open for first classic of the year

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Perfs Pedal Race 2015, Entries Open!

Eamonn Deane writes … The traditional domestic road-season opener in the South started way back in July 1964, moving to its early season slot the following year. Promoted by Mick Waite on behalf of VC St Raphael, the ‘Perfs’ has always provided a tough early season test. The vagaries of the winter weather as much as the course, providing the examination.

The 2014 edition of the Perfs Pedal was cancelled due to flooding. The Perfs Pedal was also cancelled in 2003 due to flooding and again in 2010 this time due to poor road surfaces.


Organiser Mick Waite presenting the cheque to 2012 winner Chris Opie.

The 45 mile, 2015 race takes place on Sunday 8th February 2015 and will feature four laps of the Portsdown Hill circuit above Portsmouth before switching to the Newtown Circuit, the finish coming on the second climb of One Hundred Acres wood.

Perfs is open to Elite, 1st, 2nd & 3rd category riders and features National Escort Group accredited motorcycle marshals and accredited road marshals.

Details HERE

Postal Entry only to: Mr Michael Waite, 249 Havant Road, Farlington, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 1DB

0239 237 9753

£30.00 payable to M WAITE

1964 Tony Mills Ryall / Raxar
1965 Barrie Heath Bournemouth Olympic
1966 Graham Moore Bristol Road Club
1967 Alan Williams Dragon RC
1968 & 69 Not Held
1970 Graham Moore Bristol Road Club
1971 Graham Moore Bristol Road Club
1972 Clive Crossley Bristol Road Club
1973 Derek Witt G S Europa
1974 Bob Woodley Kingston Pheonix
1975 Ian Hallam Beeston Road Club
1976 Dave LeGrys 34th Nomads CC
1977 Clive Oxborrow Brighton Mitre CC
1978 Glenn Longland Antelope RT
1979 Sean Yates Archer RC / Cutty Sark
1980 Tim Stevens 34th Nomads CC
1981 Piers Hewitt VC Europa
1982 Tim Stevens 34th Nomads CC
1983 Tim Harris Willeboro-Van-Peer-Kyoso
1984 Tim Harris Willeboro-Van-Peer-Kyoso
1985 Glenn Longland Antelope RT
1986 Tim Harris Weilersport
1987 Nigel Perry G S Stella / Weilersport / VRV
1988 Mark Markowski Hastings & St Leonards
1989 Race stopped by Police
1990 Simon Bray Invicta-DLB / Phil Corley Cycles
1991 Paul Rogers VC St Raphaël / Waite Contracts
1992 Brian Fleming C C Romford
1993 Richard Wooles CC Abergavenny / Owen Construction
1994 Colin Langley C C Luton
1995 Martin Markowski Velo Club Bayeaux
1996 Brian Fleming Cannon Sports Club / Omega BioRacer
1997 Justin Clarke Giant – Portland
1998 David Rand PDM Sports – Concorde – WCU
1999 Paul Wilkes VC St Martinus
2000 Justin Hoy Liphook Cycle RT
2001 Julian Winn Welsh Cycling Union Private Member
2002 Barry Elcombe Festival Road Club / Nico lapage
2003 Cancelled due to Flooding
2004 Julian Winn Pinarello RT/Pinarello/Corima
2005 Chris Newton recycling.co.uk/MG Xpower/Litespeed
2006 Jason Williamson Agisko-Dart-Cycling.tv / Xpower
2007 Alex Dowsett 100% ME
2008 James Stewart KFS Special Vehicles / Sunday Bikes
2009 Will Bjergfelt Sports Beans-Willier
2010 cancelled due to poor road conditions
2011 Ben Stockdale Team Quroz
2012 Chris Opie Team UK Youth
2013 Marcin Bialoblocki Team UK Youth
2014 Cancelled

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK