Report – Full Gas Track League


Report & Results from the Full Gas “special events” track league night at Lee Valley for it’s members on Monday night

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Full Gas Track League
(thanks Pippa)

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

This was the first of a series of monthly events and, instead of league points, riders were competing for cash prizes. With track time limited to 3 hours, specialist disciplines like sprint, team pursuit and Madison don’t usually feature on a track league programme, but for riders who compete in these events getting track time to practice the specialist skills involved is essential.

The Special Events Series therefore provides opportunities for those riders to get the practice time they need at the same time as adding new, challenging events to the programme for the other league members.

The programme will evolve and change on a monthly basis. Monday’s timetable was ambitious, with no less than 31 events completed in just 3 hours. Groups featured a bigger mix of riders and abilities than usual, with the women getting a chance to go into battle with the men for the first time.

The evening began with the usual warm-up scratch races for people to find their track legs, interspersed with round 1 of the sprint competition.

Next up was the team pursuit. No cash prize was available for this and it was run purely as a timed event, with no final. Clear winners in the Male category were the team led by Alex Dowsett and featuring young stars Joe Fry and Olly Moors plus seasoned World Masters TP champion John McClelland. Also performing well were the Nuun-Sigma Sport-London team of Cameron Fraser, George Gori, Craig McLean and VC Londres ‘guest’ Iain Cook and London Dynamo’s Ralph Carter, Tom Hargreaves, Richard Mondszein and Jeremy Brougham.

In the Womens’ competition the team of Keira McVitty, Amy Good and Christine Robson clocked the fastest time at 1.54.23, pushing London Dynamo’s Tessa Pugh, Jennifer Crouch and Sophie Faldo into 2nd place. However, special recognition goes to the third-placed team of Claire Lee, Louise Mason and Debbie Percival for taking the plunge and riding their first EVER team pursuit.

The Mystery Elimination Scratch races were, as the name suggests, an un-known distance with elimination laps being added in at random. Groups were, again, mixed, and second place in the C Group race went to PMR @ Toachim House’s Louise Laker, who rode with amazing confidence and speed. Overall winner for the C Group was Paul Bold from Glade CC and the AB race was taken by Olly Moors, closely followed by Alex Dowsett and Iain Cook.

The Gem Hygiene sponsored Course des Primes races were fought out over 20 laps, with cash prized available for the last 15. Clear winners in the C and B groups were Thomas Mann and Jonathan Harris, taking 9 and 12 laps respectively. The A Group race was a closer result but Joe Fry emerged as the eventual winner having taken 4 laps.

The sprint competition was won by Paul Swanton from SES Racing who put on a strong, experienced performance to win 1st place in the sprint AND the first of two keirin races, with team-mate Rupert Parker close on his tail, followed by Andrew Bradshaw. Albin Geneix came 2nd in the sprint but took the win in the second keirin, from Karoly Markos (2nd) and Keith Bryceland (3rd).

The regular track league returns on Monday 1st December before a short break while all eyes are on the World Cup.

Warm-Up Scratch Race C
1st Thomas Mann VC Londres
2nd Paul Bold Glade CC
3rd Neville Smith CSE Racing

Warm-up Scratch Race B
1st Jonathan Harris GS Avanti
2nd Neil Lewis North Road CC
3rd David Kettle Dulwich Paragon

Warm-up Scratch Race A
1st Joe Fry RST Racing Team
2nd Alex Dowsett Team Movistar
3rd Olly Moors Speg-Project 51

Mystery Elimination Scratch C
1st Paul Bold Glade cc
2nd Louise Laker PMR @ Toachim House
3rd Thomas Mann VC Londres

Mystery Elimination Scratch AB
1st Olly Moors Speg-Project 51
2nd Alex Dowsett Team Movistar
3rd Iain Cook VC Londres

Course des Primes – sponsored by Gem Hygiene (top scorers)
C Group Thomas Mann VC Londres 9 laps won
B Group Jonathan Harris GS Avanti 12 laps won
A Group Joe Fry RST Racing Team 4 laps won

Male Team Pursuit (2k)

TP1 Alex Dowsett Team Movistar 2.20.94
Joe Fry RTS Racing Team
John McClelland Bush Healthcare CRT
Olly Moors Speg-Project 51

TP2 Cameron Fraser Nuun-Sigma Sport-London 2.26.32
George Gori Nuun-Sigma Sport-London
Craig McLean Nuun-Sigma Sport-London
Iain Cook VC Londres

TP3 Keir Apperley CC Hackney 2.37.99
David Kettle Dulwich Paragon
Riyadh Kamis
Craig Swatton Crawley Wheelers

TP4 Ian Bibby Finsbury Park CC 2.41.93
Neil Lewis North Road CC
Ian Prenelle Finsbury Park CC

TP5 Nick Baxter PMR @ Toachim House 2.38.70
Jonathan Harris GS Avanti
Mick James PMR @ Toachim House
Ian Henderson PMR @ Toachim House

TP6 Ralph Carter London Dynamo 2.29.21
Tom Hargreaves London Dynamo
Richard Mondszein London Dynamo
Jeremy Brougham London Dynamo

Female Team Pursuit (1.5k)

WTP1 Amy Good VC Londres 1.54.23
Keira McVitty Wyndymilla-Reynolds
Christine Robson VC Londres

WTP2 Claire Lee Shaftesbury CC 2.18.56
Louise Mason Medway Velo
Debbie Percival 34 Nomads CC

WTP3 Jennifer Crouch London Dynamo 2.05.28
Tessa Pugh London Dynamo
Sophie Faldo London Dynamo


Round 1 Results
Heat 1 Paul Swanton SES Racing
Heat 2 Andrew Bradshaw VC Londres
Heat 3 Ian Henderson PMR @ Toachim House
Heat 4 Rupert Parker SES Racing
Heat 5 Tom Boulton Finsbury Park CC
Heat 6 Alex Pierce Willesden Cycling Club

Round 1 Rep Results
Heat 1 Karoly Markos CC London
Heat 2 Leo Tong The 5th Floor Cycle Club

Quarter Finals Results
Heat 1 Alex Pierce Willesden Cycling Club
Heat 2 Rupert Parker SES Racing
Heat 3 Paul Swanton SES Racing
Heat 4 Albin Geneix Ford Cycling Club

Semi Finals Results
SF1 Paul Swanton SES Racing
SF2 Albin Geneix Ford Cycling Club

Minor Final Results Rupert Parker SES Racing

Final Results Paul Swanton SES Racing

Keirin Heat 1
1st Paul Swanton SES Racing
2nd Rupert Parker SES Racing
3rd Andrew Bradshaw VC Londres

Keirin Heat 2
1st Albin Geneix Ford Cycling Club
2nd Karoly Markos CC London
3rd Keith Bryceland Welwyn

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,