News – NFTO’s Man of Steele Leads Aussie Team


NFTO 2015 signing Steele Von Hoff will lead an Aussie team in the 2015 Jayco Herald Sun Tour

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – NFTO’s Man of Steele Leads Aussie Team

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

The 2015 Herald Sun Tour, Australia’s oldest stage race, will be staged from Wednesday 4th to Sunday 8th February, as the climax to an exciting summer of cycling and will mark the 62nd edition of the race. Headlining the KordaMentha Australian Team will be a host of riders with UCI WorldTour experience including Cameron Wurf, Lachlan Morton and newly-crowned national criterium champion, Steele von Hoff (NFTO).


Steele von Hoff: Photo: John Veage/Cycling Australia

“It’s definitely a great all-round team and I’m really happy with it,” von Hoff said. “With Lachie and Angus on the team we’ve got GC options as well. Cameron Wurf was riding very strong at Nationals, he’ll be another one to watch. The prologue will suit him perfectly, people forget about his time trialling abilities,” von Hoff continued.

Fifth in the 2014 Prologue, and just two seconds from the podium, von Hoff is confident of forcing his way into the top three this year. “It would be nice to be wearing the first leader’s jersey of the race coming into the first sprint stage in Bendigo,” he said.

Von Hoff’s speed along with the strong climbing pedigrees of Wurf and Morton should ensure the team remains in the action right up until the Jayco Herald Sun Tour’s thrilling finale on Arthurs Seat. “Arthurs Seat is a terrible stage for me, but it is my home race,” explained von Hoff, having grown up not far from the base of the climb. “It’s where I train.”

Armed with a recently announced three year agreement from the Victorian Government, the 62nd edition of Australia’s oldest stage race will conclude an action packed summer of cycling. Victorian Minister for Sport, John Eren MP, said the Victorian Government is proud to work with a range of dedicated key partners to support the event.

“It not only brings together a star studded peloton including international and national riders, the Tour injects a significant boost to local sport, tourism, and investment. It helps stimulate regional economies and new job opportunities as well as community spirit,” Mr Eren said.

“Importantly, events like these showcase the best of Victoria with some of our great tourist destinations covered by the stages of the event. These include the vibrant Southbank precinct in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, the rolling hills of Mt Macedon, the goldfields region of Bendigo, the wineries of Nagambie and Seymour’s majestic Goulburn River and Tallarook Ranges.”

“And don’t forget the final stage atop Arthurs Seat on the beautiful Mornington Peninsula. The Jayco Herald Sun Tour highlights just how important major events are for all Victorians,” Mr Eren said.

The Jayco Herald Sun Tour honour roll features the likes of 2012 Tour de France champion Bradley Wiggins, Tour de France sprint champion Baden Cooke and stage winner Simon Gerrans. Defending champion Simon Clarke will return for ORICA-GreenEDGE with their full line-up to be announced shortly.

Jayco Herald Sun Tour

When: Wednesday 4th to Sunday 8th February 2015

Prologue – Wednesday 4th February – Melbourne Southbank – 2.1km
Stage 1 – Thursday 5th February – Mt Macedon to Bendigo – 150km
Stage 2 – Friday 6th February – Bendigo to Nagambie – 118km
Stage 3 – Saturday 7th February – Mitchelton Winery to Nagambie – 146km
Stage 4 – Sunday 8th February – Arthurs Seat Finale – 124km


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK