News – 49th Clayton Spring Classic


With five weeks to go to the North’s season opener, entries are flooding in for 49th Clayton Spring Classic

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – 49th Clayton Spring Classic

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

With five weeks to go to the North’s season opener, the 49th Clayton Spring Classic (Feb 22nd), entries are flooding in and a full field of 80 riders is assured.

Last year’s winner and local, Si Wilson, will wear number one. Organisers say the 3.9 mile Bashall circuit is in good condition and the race format of three groups will be unchanged from last year. The Juniors will lead the field away followed by category 2,3,4 before the scratch group of Elite and category 1 riders set about reeling in the 7.5 minute deficit.


Race distance will be 15 laps, 58.5 miles. Recent years have seen very determined Juniors hold off the Elite group almost to the end, notably Manchester rider Andy Leigh who was 4th in 2013 and is now a Belgium based Dave Rayner funded rider. Andy rides again this year.

Two other young guns almost pulling off a shock were the Yates twins, now World Tour riders with Orica GreenEdge. Former winners and podiums read like an who’s who of the best British based riders and several World Tour riders, notably Ian Stannard, Alex Dowsett and Dan Craven.

First pro team to enter is the new squad of One Pro Cycling; George Atkins, Sam Williams, Josh Hunt, Jonny Bellis and 2010 runner up Pete Williams.


Former Winners
2014: 1. Simon Wilson, 2. David McGowan 3. Richard Handley
2013: 1. Richard Handley 2. Ryan Mullen, 3. James Gullen
2012: 1. Richard Hepworth 2. David McGowan 3. Robert Hassan
2011: 1. Dean Downing, 1. Tom Murray (dead heat) 3. Tom Barras
2010: 1. Dan Craven 2. Peter Williams 3. Chris Newton
2009: 1. Rob Hayles 2. Rob Partridge 3. Mark McNally
2008: 1. Chris Newton 2. Dean Downing 3. Graham Briggs
2007: 1. Ian Stannard 2. Alex Dowsett 3. Mark McNally
2006: 1. Chris Newton 2. Kevin Dawson 3. Graham Briggs
2005: 1. Kevin Dawson 2. David McGowan, 3. Ian Wilkinson
2004: 1. Kevin Dawson 2. Jack Hill 3. Philip West
2003: 1. Gary Adamson 2. Kevin Dawson 3. Ian Wilkinson
2002: 1. Bill Nickson 2. Chris Burrows 3. Hamish Haynes
2001: Cancelled
2000: 1. Robin Sharman 2. Ian Cuthbertson 3. Hamish Haynes
1999: 1. Mark Lovatt 2. Alistair Kay 3. Neil Swithenbank

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK