News – GB to Ride Aussie SunTour


Former team Sky rider Joshua Edmondson leads GB team at a monument in Australian cycling history, the UCI Sun Tour

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – GB to Ride Aussie SunTour

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

It is the longest running stage race in Australian cycling history and whilst overshadowed by the Tour Down Under, the Australian Sun Tour has a rich history with British cyclists. Bradley Wiggins has won it as did David Mann and others like Dean Downing and Malcolm Elliott have also tasted success there.


Joshua Edmondson attacking from the lead break at the British Road Race Championships in Abergavenny.

One of the British teams involved in the race will be six riders from Team GB who will contest the race from 4-8 February 2015 in Victoria, Australia. Olympic Academy Programme riders Gabriel Cullaigh, Scott Davies, Jake Kelly and Chris Lawless will be joined for the UCI 2.1 stage race by Olympic Podium Programme mountain biker Grant Ferguson and guest rider Josh Edmondson who rode for team Sky in 2013 and 2014.

Guest Josh Edmondson will give road manager Keith Lambert some good options in the race. Edmondson signed with Team Sky after a standout performance in the 2012 Tour of Britain and competed for the squad throughout the 2013 and 2014 seasons. For 2015, the 22-year-old from Leeds will ride with the Great Britain academy squad.

“He’s really happy with how he’s going,” said Lambert of Edmondson’s pre-season preparation. “I’ve known him for most of his life – I’ve watched him progress and I know what ability he’s got. He can produce something special.”

The event is the oldest stage race on the Australian calendar, seeing its 62nd edition in 2015 and includes five stages starting with a 2.4-kilometre prologue on 4 February and culminating in a 124-kilometre road stage featuring a challenging triple climb of Arthur’s Seat.

Following the race, Great Britain’s under-23 squad will return to Europe to prepare for the UCI Under 23 Nations’ Cup, which begins on 11 April with the Tour of Flanders and ends in August with the Tour de l’Avenir stage race in France.

Great Britain Cycling Team named for 2015 Jayco Herald Sun Tour
Gabriel Cullaigh
Scott Davies
Josh Edmondson
Grant Ferguson
Jake Kelly
Chris Lawless

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK