World Cyclo-Cross Championships – Elite Men


GB’s Ian Field, Hargroves Cycles – Ridley is 21st at Elite Men’s World Cyclo-Cross Championships 

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

World Cyclo-Cross Championships – Elite Men

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Dutchman Mathieu van der Poel (below) won the 2015 World Cyclo-Cross Championship for Elite Men fifteen seconds clear of Belgian Wout Van Aert who not only came back to join Dutchman Lars van der Haar on the final lap, but went on to outsprint him as well.


Mathieu van der Poel wins the 2015 Cyclo-cross title. Pic: Paul Burgoine

Winner the weekend before in the World Cup, Van der Poel was the overwhelming favourite and quickly took the race by the scruff of the neck at the start and gave the title race an almighty shake. Wout Van Aert remained in the mix but had a race of problems behind the leader Mathieu van der Poel who was a most deserved winner with only Van der Haar anywhere near the winner at the finish as the rest were blown away and a minute plus down.


The sprint for second won by Wout Van Aert. Pic: Paul Burgoine

Britain’s Ian Field , Hargroves Cycles – Ridley was 21st and said afterwards “It is a good result, very close to top 15 but I was completely on the limit. My heart rate was through the roof and I was breathing so hard. I went down pretty hard and that was it. I was close to catching Mouray on the line, it was so close.”

“I gave it absolutely everything with five to go and I didn’t even think I was going to finish the race as I was just on the limit for the whole race and got everything out. I really wanted top twenty, so thats it this season, time for a break and rebuild for next season”.


Ian Field. Pic: Paul Burgoine


Pic: Paul Burgoine


Pic: Paul Burgoine

1. Mathieu van der Poel, Netherlands
2. Wout Van Aert, Belgium @ 15
3. Lars van der Haar, Netherlands @ 17
4. Kevin Pauwels, Belgium @ 1:06
5. Klaas Vantornout, Belgium @ 1:12
6. Tom Meeusen, Belgium @ 1:17
7. Gianni Vermeersch, Belgium @ 2:26
8. Marcel Meisen, Germany @ 2:37
9. Philipp Walsleben, Germany @ 2:43
10. Marco Aurelio Fontana, Italy @ 2:54

21. Ian Field, Great Britain @ 4:00

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,