Winter Series – Ludgershall Round 6


Ryan Visser, Chanel Mason , Jordan Frampton & Kez Greenham winners at round 6 of the Ludgershall Winter Series on Saturday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Winter Series – Ludgershall Round 6

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Saturday 7th February 2015 | by Graham Robins

Despite the early morning frost, racing finally got underway at the REME Test track on the edge of Salisbury Plain once the organisers had deposited salt down and drive cars around the 0.9mile course and the sun finally raised high enough to melt the ice on the two bends.

The E/1/2 race was 45mins + 5 laps and the Women’s race was 40mins and 3 laps and these two races were run together. The women’s was the first race to split when four riders went clear of the remainder and soon they had a lead of 12secs and were soon building on it. The men’s race had to wait a further ten minutes before Harrison Fielding fresh from a winter training camp in Spain (BCPM) forced his way to the front and soon started to build a lead.

Realising the danger Ash Hutchinson (VC St Raphael) jumped across along with Ryan Visser and these three soon began to build a big lead. The remainder of the bunch having decided they had missed the attack seemed happy to work together for the rest of the points on offer.


By the mid way point in the women’s race, the lead group of four was reduced to two when first Chanel Mason and then EJ Harris both from the Army Cycling Union slipped away and the two worked together to extend their lead over eventual third place rider Kate Barker (Bath Uni CC). The women’s race result was decided by this move and all that was left was for the time to tick away. Chanel won the sprint to the line with EJ right on her wheel.

The men’s race was now also done but it was just the order to sort out until Ryan punctured and had a lap out. As Ash and Harrison continued Ryan had to wait for the two leaders to come around before he could join in again. At the bell the three leaders now had the tail end of the bunch in front of them by a couple of hundred meters but they collectively decided to sit up and have a clear sprint.

As the three came around the final corner Harrison put the power on but a loose cleat forced the Wimborne Minster rider to adjust and this cost him a clean run to the line. Ryan now had the line in sight and he had too much for Ash winning by a second with Fielding coming in a couple of seconds further back.

The morning got underway with a fourth cat race of 30mins +three laps. The race rolled through with only a couple of riders prepared to attack the bunch and so the race all came down to a sprint which was won by Jordan Frampton (BCPM).

The third cat race was next up, it was 40mins +3laps and soon it was clear we were going to see a lot of action as several riders tried to distance the bunch but were reeled back once the gap got too big. We had to wait until mid point when finally two riders broke away and build a lap. First Jack Freeman (Alton CC) and Tom Bolton (Oxford Uni) got away and they held a 15secs lead until the thirty-second minute when they were finally pulled back by the bunch.

After a couple of laps Alex Harding (Andover Wheelers) attacked but he seemed to have gone too early and he too was pulled back leaving the bunch all together at the bell. The sprint was finally won by Kez Greenham (ACU) from Andy Hibberd (NHRC) and Patrick Martin (Wyndy Milla) winning the sprint for third.

4th Cat only
1 Jordan Frampton
2 Daniel Baker ASL Projects Racing Team
3 Edward Tibbitts Team Wiggle
4 Nicholas Buck Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
5 Simon White Westbury Wheelers
6 Alex McIntosh Cotswold Veldrijden
7 Sam Oliver RP Racing Team
8 Andrew Mackay Sotonia CC
9 Luke Handley ASL Projects Racing Team
10 Andrew Banks Westbury Wheelers
11 Oliver Turner
12 Jonathan Reed Royal Navy & Royal Marines…
13 Jamie Noel Outdoor Traders Cycling Club
14 Simon Walters Velo Club Venta
15 Aaron Thompson Portsmouth North End CC
16 Robert Baird Blazing Saddles Cycles
17 Joshua Macmillan Portsmouth North End CC
18 Tom Atkins Aylesbury CC
19 Edward Rowe Sotonia CC
20 Andrew Guest Sarum Velo

3rd Cat only
1 Kerry Greenham Army Cycling Union
2 Andy Hibberd North Hampshire RC
3 Patrick Martin WyndyMilla
4 Joseph Linehan RP Racing Team
5 Darren Orchard Mud, Sweat n Gears CC
6 Timothy Allen RP Racing Team
7 Jason Hales
8 Harry Strudley University of Bath Cycling Clu…
9 Lewis Martin Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
10 James Vanieris Southdown Velo
11 James Cooper Rock N Road Cycles
12 Spencer Robinson Newbury RC
13 Will Yates Kingston Wheelers CC
14 Gary Hill JMJ RT
15 Jack Freeman Alton CC/Owens Cycles
16 Ben Scott-Munden Sotonia CC
17 Charlie Cooper VC St Raphael
18 Tom Bolton Oxford University Cycling Club
19 Andrew Henderson Westbury Wheelers
20 Jake Hollins University of Bath Cycling Clu…
21 Alex Jones Twickenham CC
22 Thomas Goodyer Portsmouth North End CC

1 Ryan Visser Danny Shane – Storck Racing
2 Ashley Hutchison VC St Raphael
3 Harrison Fielding
4 Adam Moore ASL Projects Racing Team
5 Gareth Turner University of Bath Cycling Clu…
6 David Billings VC St Raphael
7 Patrick Martin WyndyMilla
8 Jason Hales
9 Andrew Carter Portsmouth North End CC
10 Timothy Harkness Maison Du Velo-Storck Bikes UK
11 Tom Bolton Oxford University Cycling Club
12 Joseph Linehan RP Racing Team
13 Timothy Allen RP Racing Team

Women’s E/1/2/3/4
1 Chanel Mason Army Cycling Union
2 Elizabeth-Jane Harris Army Cycling Union
3 Kate Baker University of Bath Cycling Clu…
4 Lindsey Ackland Zappi’s Racing Team
5 Florence Collyer-Powell Southampton University RC
6 Sophie Herbert Southampton University RC
7 Sarah Hardy Army Cycling Union
8 Gail Brown Bournemouth Arrow/Hotel Collin…
9 Hannah Beaumont Army Cycling Union
10 Alice Dobbs

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,