News – 43rd Severn Bridge


Top teams NFTO & One Pro coming out to play at the 43rd Severn Bridge Road Race near Bristol on March 1st

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – 43rd Severn Bridge

43rd Severn Bridge Road Race | Sunday 1st March

Following on from the Clayton Velo Spring Classic this Sunday, the next race in a series of the early season British Classics is the Severn Bridge Road Race on March 1st. Held near Bristol, the event will see a few of the top British teams sending some riders to pin a number on. NFTO have entered Irish rider Eddie Dunbar who is a first year senior along with Rhys Lloyd and Rob Partridge whilst Dante Carpenter from JLT Condor is the sole rider from that team.


The hilly course will suit new NFTO rider Eddie Dunbar

One Pro Cycling send former winner Marcin Bialoblocki along with George Harper and Yanto Barker ahead of their next training camp whilst the SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team have four riders entered including Will Bjergfelt, Ben Stockdale, Dexter Gardias and Oliver Maxwell.

With the top teams sending small numbers of riders, the event should be more open although the pressure will be on the full timers to take on the race on what the organiser Brian O’Kelly says is “a very hard circuit and will involve 10 times up Stowey Hill, which is about 1km at average 7%. Also the rest of the circuit is quite undulating.”

Course: 100km: 10 laps Stowey Hill, Clutton, Chelwood roundabout circuit, Finish at Herriot’s Bridge, Chew Valley lake.



Confirmed Competitors
1 Tom Stringer Army Cycling Union
2 Andrew Feather Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
3 Joshua Jones Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
4 Oscar Hutchins Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
5 Vojtech Blazejovsky Brixton Cycles Club
6 Niel Dunnage Cotswold Veldrijden
7 Callum Lister Cotswold Veldrijden
8 Trevor Smith Cotswold Veldrijden
9 Ryan Brain Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
10 Richard Harris Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
11 Andrew Williams Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
12 Harry Veale
13 Robert Ward Danny Shane – Storck Racing
14 Craig Wallduck Dream Cycling Race Team
15 Tom Ilett Dream Cycling Race Team
16 Jamie Penton Dream Cycling Race Team
17 John Russell Dymag-T-1-D
18 Bevan Humphreys Easton Ritte
19 Anthony Moye Easton Ritte
20 John Spanapolous Easton Ritte
21 George Fowler Easton Ritte
22 Thomas Leach Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
23 Adam Capes Finchley Racing Team
24 George Clark High Wycombe Cycling Club
25 Dante Carpenter JLT Condor
26 Dion Black Kenilworth Wheelers CC
27 Ross Evans Live2Ride Sunwise
28 Luke Nolan Live2Ride Sunwise
29 Gunther Zechmann London Phoenix CC
30 Morgan Hughes Marsh Tracks Race Team
31 Eddie Dunbar NFTO
32 Rhys Lloyd NFTO
33 Robert Partridge NFTO
34 James Eldridge NFTO Race Club
35 Hefin Evans NFTO Race Club
36 George Richardson NFTO Race Club
37 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling
38 Marcin Bialoblocki One Pro Cycling
39 George Harper One Pro Cycling
40 Yanto Barker One Pro Cycling
41 Robert Moore Pedal Heaven RT
42 Max Stedman Pedal Heaven RT
43 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven RT
44 Calum Croft Primera-Sports.Com
45 Jordan Frampton Primera-Sports.Com
46 Andrew Syme Primera-Sports.Com
47 Oliver Moors Project 51
48 Thomas Grigson Radeon Cycle Coaching
49 Ben Strain Radeon Cycle Coaching
50 Stefan Barnett Radeon Cycle Coaching
51 Deacon Cutterham Ride 24/7
52 Colin Parry Ride 24/7
53 Mark Perry Ride 24/7
54 Thomas Bowering Ride 24/7
55 Joe Atkins Ride Coventry
56 Nicholas Buck Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
57 Frederick Coreth Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
58 James Meakin Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
59 Mark Baines Spirit Bikes Racing Team
60 Jack Beezer Spirit Bikes Racing Team
61 Stuart Travis-Beames Spirit Bikes Racing Team
62 William Bjergfelt SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
63 Ben Stockdale SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
64 Dexter Gardias SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
65 Oliver Maxwell SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
66 Joseph Clark Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
67 Russell Falder Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
68 Alastair Hepworth Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
69 Ashley Proctor Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
70 Henry Hunter Team Moda-Anon
71 Joshua Lawless Team Moda-Anon
72 Andrew Webster Team Moda-Anon
73 James Curson Tri UK
74 Lee Frost Tri UK
75 Daniel Mcquillan Tri UK
76 Kris Jasper Unattached
77 Liam Walsh VC St Raphael
78 David Billings VC St Raphael
79 David Janes VC Walcot
80 Ben Davis Wheelbase Altura MGD

81 Graham Collins Tanks Direct Cycling
82 Ben Lockett Tri UK
83 Lee Davis Ride 24/7


1982 Martin Eadon
1983 Dave Smith
1984 Ben Luckwell
1985 Ben Luckwell
1986 Mike Parker
1987 Andrew Shaw
1988 C White
1989 N Salmon
1990 Toby Pinn
1991 Chris King
1992 Jeremy Hunt
1993 Richard Wooles
1994 Richard Prebble
1995 Lee Davis
1996 Simon Bray
1997 Rob Lyne
1998 Simon Bray
199 Matthew Beckett
2000 Ian Jeremiah
2001 Cancelled
2002 Rob Hurd
2003 Matt Bottrill
2004 Julian Winn
2005 Benoit Lagorce (FRA)
2006 Grant Bayton
2007 Gordon Macauley (NZ)
2008 Matt Rowe
2009 Marcin Bialoblocki (POL)
2010 Phill Sykes
2011 Zak Dempster (AUS)
2012 Marcin Bialoblocki (POL)
2013 Abandoned
2014 Alex Blain, Raleigh GAC

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK