Tour of Oman – Stage 3 is Kristoffs


Team Katusha’s Alexander Kristoff, one of the most successful riders of the year, scored his fourth victory of the 2015 season with a win on stage 3 of the Tour of Oman.

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tour of Oman – Stage 3 is Kristoffs


On Stage 3 of the Tour of Oman, Alexander Kristoff was the fastest rider to the line in a mass sprint. Andrea Guardini (Astana) and Matteo Pelucchi (IAM Cycling) were second and third and Adam Blythe 9th.

“The team protected me so well” Kristoff said afterwards. “Gatis Smukulis and Jacopo Guarnieri were the last guys to give me some shelter against the strong head wind. I was in a comfortable position in the last kilometre. Orica-GreenEdge started the sprint, Trek took over.”

“I was on the wheel of Danny van Poppel with 300 meters to go but I waited till the last 100 meters to go full gas. It was a perfect sprint. The lead out was like it has to be. We made a nice progress compared to the past. Every race is one step up. I am so happy with my lead out train.”

Stage 3 of the Tour of Oman had its start and finish in Al Mussanah Sports City in a classic text book stage. Once a break of three riders was caught, nothing else was allowed to escape heading to the finish full gas. Trek Factory Racing successfully defended the leader’s jersey for Fabian Cancellera.

With no time trial in the Tour of Oman the Green Mountain finish of stage four is the main opportunity to sort out the general classification, and it will be a feisty battle to its summit Friday.

1. Alexander Kristoff, Team Katusha 3:56:42
2. Andrea Guardini, Astana Pro Team
3. Matteo Pelucchi, IAM Cycling
4. Nacer Bouhanni, Cofidis, Solutions Credits
5. Danny Van Poppel, Trek Factory Racing
6. Sacha Modolo, Lampre – Merida
7. Matti Breschel, Tinkoff-Saxo
8. Ramon Sinkeldam, (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin
9. Adam Blythe, Orica GreenEdge
10. Tom Boonen, Etixx-Quick Step

33. Alejandro Valverde, Movistar Team
40. Peter Sagan, Tinkoff-Saxo
50. Fabian Cancellara, Trek Factory Racing
97. Joaquin Rodriguez, Team Katusha
116. Sam Bennett, Bora-Argon 18 @ 14
136. Zakkari Dempster, Bora-Argon 18 0:03:12

1. Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing 12:18:56
2. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:04
3. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Argon 18 0:00:05
4. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 0:00:06
5. Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:10
6. Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,